Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Mute Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Kicking Against the Pricks (2009 Remastered Version) LP

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Third Album on Vinyl LP.

Kicking Against the Pricks is the third album released by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. First released in 1986, the album is a collection of cover versions. The title refers to a passage from the King James Version of the Bible. The phrase refers to the futility of an ox kicking in irritation at the sharpened wooden rod, called a prick or goad, used by his driver when tilling soil.

The album marked the Bad Seeds debut of drummer Thomas Wydler, expanding the Bad Seeds lineup to Cave, Wydler, Mick Harvey, Blixa Bargeld, and Barry Adamson. Cave would later downplay the importance of the record, but said it helped the band develop musically. "It allowed us to discover different elements, to actually make and perform a variety of different sorts of music successfully. I think that helped subsequent records tremendously."

Remarking on the song selection, Cave said, "They were all done for different reasons. Basically a list of songs were made and we tried to play them. We tried songs by The Loved Ones and The Saints and all sorts of people that never got on the record. Some songs were tributes, like the Tom Jones song; other songs we didn't think the song was ever done particularly well in the first place. Some songs had just kind of haunted my childhood, like 'The Carnival Is Over,' which I always loved." astonishingly good all-covers album...
-Ned Raggett,, 4/5 stars


  • Vinyl LP
  • 2009 Remastered Version
  • Made in the EU


Side A:

  1. Muddy Water
  2. I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
  3. Sleeping Annaleah
  4. Long Black Veil
  5. Hey Joe
  6. The Singer

Side B:

  1. All Tomorrow's Parties
  2. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
  3. The Hammer Song
  4. Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart
  5. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well
  6. The Carnival Is Over

Customers Also Like