Genre: R&B
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nick Waterhouse Nick Waterhouse LP

Nick Waterhouse

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Video Sample!

Retro R&B Rocker's Fourth Album On Vinyl LP!

Singer, songwriter, and record producer, Nick Waterhouse is known for his unique retro sound that has sprouted from rhythm & blues, jazz and soul. Some of his music influences include Mose Allison, John Lee Hooker, Van Morrison, and Bert Berns. One of his greatest influences came from his employment at the San Francisco record store Rooky Ricardo's Records where he was apprentice to shop owner Richard Vivian.

The fourth album from Nick Waterhouse is called "Nick Waterhouse". And whether intentional or not, it is perhaps his most reflective — and reflexive — album, employing all of the mature production techniques learned throughout his professional career while retaining a viscous edge that allows it to land with colossal impact — more raw, heavy and overtly confrontational than anything he's made before. Recorded in Hollywood, California at Electro Vox Recorders (the last surviving "Golden Era" '50s style footprint a la Gold Star, Master Recorders, et al.), Nick Waterhouse was cut with a gang of new faces and recurring true believers and co-produced by Paul Butler. Nick's songs here are personal, but personal in the way that "Please Mr. Postman", "What's Going On" and "Cathy's Clown" are — intimate, direct, yet still malleable enough for listeners to suffuse their own life stories into the mix. "Adapt or die," Nick wails, sardonically, on crime-jazz blitz "Black Glass", telling you all you need to know about his process.

"For an updated throwback to rock and soul, look no further than musician Nick Waterhouse, whose weathered voice and nimble guitar come to life on 'Song for Winners,' the first single off his upcoming self-titled album. The L.A.-based artist sounds like he easily could have fit in mid-20th century with his fuzzy-edged R&B, but keeps things updated and interesting with jazzy interludes and earnest, unfussy delivery. While the track may start off with a rock 'n' roll vibe, it quickly evolves into a bluesier groove that shows off his classic style." - Time

"Catchy from the start, 'Song for Winners' is what it sounds like, making full use of its saxophone solos and gravelly vocals and showcasing only the best of Nick Waterhouse's skills in rhythm and blues and road-trip-ready guitar." - Consequence of Sound

• Vinyl LP

Side One:

1. By Heart
2. Song For Winners
3. I Feel An Urge Coming On
4. Undedicated
5. Black Glass
Side Two:
1. Wreck The Rod
2. Which Was Writ
3. Man Leaves Town
4. Thought & Act
5. El Viv
6. Wherever She Goes (She Is Wanted)

Customers Also Like