Genre: Jazz
Label: Verve
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nina Simone I Put A Spell On You (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) 180g LP

Nina Simone

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP!
Remastered & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound From Original Analog Tapes!

Michael Fremer Rated 9/11 Music, 9/11 Sonics!

The 1965 album I Put A Spell On You features some of Nina Simone's best-known songs, including her cover of Screamin' Jay Hawkins' "I Put A Spell On You". The original version gave it an ironic theme, but Simone transformed it into a thrilling love song, complete with horns and strings, becoming one of her most well-known songs. She used the title for her 1992 autobiography "I Put A Spell On You".

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve Label Group and Universal Music Enterprises' new audiophile Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets.

"We are excited to launch our Acoustic Sounds series," said Bruce Resnikoff, President & CEO of UMe. "Verve and UMe have one of the richest jazz catalogs ever recorded and our goal is to give vinyl and music lovers the best possible versions of classic albums. The Acoustic Sounds series is designed to appeal to today's most discriminating fans, and those discovering this treasured legacy for the first time, looking for the very finest in both artistic content and audio quality."

"The A&R choices here are as eclectic as you'd hope for on a Nina Simone album including of course the title track. Simone covers songs by Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse from their Broadway show 'The Roar of the Greasepaint' and 'Marriage is For Old Folks' from the musical 'The Secret Life of Walter Mitty', as well as a few titles flown in from France including Jacques Brel's 'Ne Me Quitte Pas' and pairs by Charles Aznavour and Simone's husband Andrew Stroud - one being a 40's style Louis Jordan-ish 'in praise of sex' (as Simone claims in the notes) 'Gimme Some'." - Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, Music 9/11, Sound 9/11

I Put a Spell On You is a thoughtful, often joyful sophisticated set of well-chosen, popular songs (pop of that era is unlike today's pop) that Nina Simone delivers with unerring charm and warmth. It's her most consistently excellent Philips era album and it and Pastel Blues, both released in 1965, are ideal showcases for both Simone's enduring artistry and for what made her Philips era records special. The sound of both of these records is the best that's been produced from these tapes and both records are well worth owning.
-Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, Music 9/11, Sound 9/11


  • Acoustic Sounds Series reissue from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises
  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • All-Analog
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound From Original Analog Tapes
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jacket


Side A:

  1. I Put A Spell On You
  2. Tomorrow Is My Turn
  3. Ne Me Quitte Pas
  4. Marriage Is For Old Folks (From The Musical "The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty")
  5. July Tree
  6. Gimme Some

Side B:

  1. Feeling Good (From The Musical "The Roar Of Greasepaint")
  2. One September Day
  3. Blues On Purpose (Instrumental)
  4. Beautiful Land (From The Musical "The Roar Of Greasepaint")
  5. You've Got To Learn
  6. Take Care Of Business

Customers Also Like