Genre: Jazz
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nina Simone Nina Simone and Her Friends (2021 Stereo Remaster) LP

Nina Simone

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

2021 Stereo Mix on Vinyl LP!
Remastered by Kevin Gray!
Jazz Vocals from Nina Simone, Carmen McRae & Chris Connor!

Originally released by Bethlehem Records in 1959, Nina Simone and Her Friends is a compilation album comprised of the few remaining, unreleased tracks from the Little Girl Blue recording session plus songs recorded by two other former Bethlehem artists, the powerhouse jazz vocalist Carmen McRae and the elegant song stylist Chris Connor.

As Daphne Brooks explains in the release's brand new essay, "Bethlehem clustered their work—tracks that had previously appeared on the label's Girlfriends compilation—together with the younger, upstart Simone's and essentially offered up a collection of songs that span a range of genres— folk, jazz, pop song staples, and torch song laments, plus a couple of provocative original compositions by McRae and Simone. Each track is a reminder of the clear-eyed independence, verve, and confidence of three artists whose music, taken together, brims with the majesty and the assured talents of the late 1950s women artists who led with conviction and invention as musicians and song interpreters."

Featuring a brand new stereo mix by four-time Grammy winner Michael Graves. Includes new essay by author of Liner Notes for the Revolution, Daphne A. Brooks.


  • Vinyl LP
  • 2021 Stereo Mix by Michael Graves
  • Remastered by Kevin Gray
  • New Essay by Daphne A. Brooks
  • Made in USA


Nina Simone vocals, piano (A1, A4, B1, B4)
Carmen McRae vocals (A3, A6, B3, B6)
Chris Connor vocals (A2, A5, B2, B5)
Jimmy Bond bass (A1, A4, B1, B4)
Albert "Tootie" Heath drums (A1, A4, B1, B4)
The Tony Scott Quartet (A6, B3, B6)
The Vinnie Burke Quartet (A2, B5)
The Mat Mathews Quartet (A3)


Side 1:

  1. He's Got the Whole World in His Hands - Nina Simone
  2. Someone To Watch Over Me - Chris Connor
  3. Old Devil Moon - Carmen McRae
  4. I Loves You, Porgy - Nina Simone
  5. I Concentrate On You - Chris Connor
  6. You Made Me Care - Carmen McRae

Side 2:

  1. For All We Know - Nina Simone
  2. From This Moment On - Chris Connor
  3. Too Much in Love to Care - Carmen McRae
  4. African Mailman - Nina Simone
  5. All This And Heaven Too - Chris Connor
  6. The Last Time For Love - Carmen McRae

Customers Also Like