Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Norman Feels Norman Feels 180g LP

Norman Feels

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Rare Funk/Soul From 1973! First Ever Vinyl Reissue!
180g Black Vinyl Edition Limited To 500 Copies!

Little is known about Norman Feels...but it is known that he was an underground soul sensation in the 1970s. He released two classic albums on Just Sunshine Records (the label that was also responsible for putting out milestone recordings by artists like Betty Davis, Karen Dalton and Arica). Over the years, Norman's songs have been sampled by renowned acts from the likes of Ghostface Killah, Nas and Kanye West.

The sound his songs emit reminds of the classic soul coming out of New Jersey at the time, but it just has that extra thing going for it...something alternative and exceptional. This made for an excellent match with the 'Just Sunshine' label that released both of his albums. Just like his labelmate Betty Davis, Norman Feels was an artist that was hard to typecast and compare with his contemporaries/peers...this makes Norman's work very interesting and worth every soul/funk connoisseur's time.

In 1973 Norman Feels released his self-titled debut album which has become a much sought after funk/soul classic. Behind Norman's floating (and extremely soulful) voice hides a dark and almost psychedelic instrumentation that makes this album particularly unique. The recordings have been beautifully arranged by David Van De Pitte (who is world-famous for the arrangements heard on Marvin Gaye's 'What's Going On') and topped off by Sal Scaltro's slick production work.

Next to Norman Feels' fascinating writing skills and trademark voice, on this album you'll find complicated (and at times brooding) compositions that take the listener on a dreamy musical journey filled with themes about struggle, relationships and social commentary. Love, beauty and sadness is lingering in every track on this album...all of this makes his self-titled debut a total 'must-have' album that begs for a special place in your record collection!

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl reissue of this fantastic album (originally released in 1973 on Just Sunshine Records). This rare record (original copies tend to go for large amounts on the secondary market) is now finally back available as a limited 180g black vinyl edition (500 copies). This reissue comes packaged in a gatefold jacket complete with the original 1973 artwork, photographs and lyrics.


  • Limited Edition Black Vinyl - 500 Copies
  • 180g Vinyl
  • First ever vinyl reissue since original 1973 release
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Obi strip
  • Original 1973 artwork, photographs & lyrics


Side I:

  1. Don't
  2. Till I Found You
  3. They Said it Couldn't Be Done
  4. Something In Me

Side II:

  1. My World Is Empty Without You
  2. Yes You Did
  3. Something About You (Makes Me Love You)
  4. Today
  5. Everything Is Going Our Way

Customers Also Like