Genre: Jazz
Label: Be With
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nucleus Under The Sun Import LP


$19.99 $39.99
(You save $20.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

1974 Album Reissued on Vinyl LP!
Remastered from Original Vertigo Analogue Tapes by Simon Francis!
Cut by Pete Norman!

Reissue, originally released on Vertigo in 1974. Under The Sun is the follow-up to the astonishing Roots and contains yet more absolutely essential Nucleus material.

Genius trumpeter and visionary composer Ian Carr was one of the most respected British musicians of his era. In late 1969, following the demise of the Rendell-Carr quintet, and tiring of British jazz, Carr assembled the legendary Nucleus. Under bandleader Carr, Nucleus existed as a fluid lineup of inventive, skilled musicians.

Under The Sun opens with the crisp, medium tempo "In Procession." It's a typically inventive Carr track with layers of dramatic, riff-led themes and repeating brass blasts. Bryan Spring's "The Addison Trip" is a moody funk piece, with Kieran White guesting on wordless vocals. Roger Sutton contributes some fine bass guitar on this track, particularly the great solo at around the two-minute mark. The excellently named, cool, jazzy ballad "Pastoral Graffiti" paints bucolic pictures with its mellow sonics, plaintive horns and Bob Bertles's flute. Sutton's superb, bass-driven "New Life" brings a different dynamic. Horns, guitar, and electric piano swirl over the head-nod bass motif and a killer Ken Shaw guitar solo. A false fade-out halfway through brings in a new bass riff that's picked up by the whole ensemble as Carr wah-wah noodles over the top. The gorgeous, laid-back "A Taste of Sarsaparilla" is exactly that - closing out the first side with a cute blast of what is to come over on the killer flip.

The whole of Under The Sun's second side is a suite of three "Themes" written by Ian Carr. The up-tempo first theme "Sarsaparilla" is comfortably one of Nucleus's best. What would've been a cluttered mess in the hands of most is instead an effortless lesson in clarity and zing. Between Geoff Castle's electric piano solo, the relentless funky drumming and more wild wah-wah trumpet from Carr, Nucleus show you how it's done. The languid groove of second theme "Feast Alfresco" is much more typical of "classic" Nucleus and sounds like something that might've been on Roots. The darker "Rites of Man," the third and final theme, is a slow build to a solid bass and electric piano riff, shored up by some tricky brass.

Remastered from the original Vertigo master tapes. Mastered by Simon Francis. Cut by Pete Norman.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Remastered from the Original Vertigo Master Tapes by Simon Francis
  • Cut by Pete Norman
  • Import


Ian Carr trumpet, flugelhorn
Bob Bertles alto & baritone saxes, bass clarinet, flute
Gordon Beck electric piano, percussion
Geoff Castle electric piano, synthesizer
Jocelyn Pitchen electric & acoustic guitar
Ken Shaw electric guitar
Roger Sutton bass guitar
Bryan Spring drums, percussion, timpani
Kieran White vocals (on "The Addison Trip")


Side One:

  1. In Procession
  2. The Addison Trip
  3. Pastoral Graffiti
  4. New Life
  5. A Taste of Sarsaparilla

Side Two:

  1. Theme 1 - Sarsaparilla
  2. Theme 2 - Feast Alfresco
  3. Theme 3 - Rites of Man

Customers Also Like