Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Jagjaguwar
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Okkervil River Down The River Of Golden Dreams LP

Okkervil River

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
The band's third album recorded in February 2003 listens like someone's diary; full of personal, embarrassing, and most intimate secrets. At times, Will Sheff's quavering vocals could be likened to that of a male Chan Marshall, while other moments find him very intense.

"Down the River of Golden Dreams is the record Okkervil River has been threatening to make since its 2000 issue, Stars Too Small to Use. Songwriter Will Sheff has turned out his nicest batch of tunes here and reined in his voice just enough to communicate his ideas without pushing too hard, while simultaneously keeping the urgency and emotive qualities he showcased on the predecessor to this record, Don't Fall in Love With Everyone You See. Because of this, Down the River of Golden Dreams is easily the group's most cohesive record to date, and solidifies Okkervil River as a band worthy of scrutiny. The fluidity of Sheff's thoughtful lyrics align with his ability to play with tension, which comes across rather nicely on the jaunty "It Ends With a Fall," the dynamic epic "The War Criminal Rises and Speaks," and the delicate "Maine Island Lovers." The band has grown into a tighter unit with a knack for some nice arrangements -- which again was hinted at on Okkervil River's previous releases, but not fully realized until now. Liberal use of Rhodes, Hammond organ, and Mellotrons is the catalyst of these songs, leading the strings and horns through crescendos and textural landscapes without losing the raw nature that has always suited Okkervil River's honesty and desire to connect with the listener on an emotional level very well." - Gregory McIntosh, All Music Guide

"Down the River of Golden Dreams...lays clever, heartbreaking lyrics over simple, stirring chord progressions...Mr. Sheff uses a rickety voice to disguise wild ambition." - Kelefa Sanneh, New York Times, September 2003

"Singer-songwriter Will Sheff of the haunted-country quartet Okkervil River is ready for worldwide renown. His ambitious melancholy on Down the River of Golden Dreams...would be impressive enough with just soft strum and Sheff’s vaporous tenor. But Okkervil River aspire to bigger cinema." - David Fricke , Rolling Stone, September 2003

1. Down the River of Golden Dreams
2. It Ends With a Fall
3. For the Enemy
4. Blanket and Crib
5. The War Criminal Rises and Speaks
6. The Velocity of Saul at the Time of His Conversion
7. Dead Faces
8. Maine Island Lovers
9. Song About a Star
10. Yellow
11. Seas Too Far to Reach

Customers Also Like