Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


One For All What's Going On? Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

One For All

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Jazz Arrangements Of Soul Classics on SACD!

Rock-solid work from One For All, easily one of the greatest straight jazz combos going, thanks to some tremendous tenor work from Eric Alexander, sweet piano work from David Hazeltine, and snapping rhythms from drummer Joe Farnsworth. The sextet also features Jim Rotondi on trumpet, Steve Davis on trombone, and John Webber on bass, all working here at the height of their powers, and also coming across with a bit more sharpness and soul than even other recent sessions on the Venus label. Arrangements are by all members of the group; the tunes are long and roll out beautifully with a solidly soulful feel -- no surprise, given that most of them are covers of classic soul tunes from the '70s.

"One for All is an ongoing all-star band that regularly meets for record dates, though almost all members of the sextet lead individual groups of their own. The focus of this session is soul music, though not in the context one would expect to hear it. Trumpeter Jim Rotondi's recasting of Marvin Gaye's protest song 'What's Going On?' transforms the piece from a rather repetitious, irritating anthem into a brilliant post-bop vehicle, with sizzling solos and terrific ensembles. Tenor saxophonist Eric Alexander utilizes a similar method in his recasting of Al Green's 'Let's Stay Together' with equal success. Pianist David Hazeltine contributed several arrangements, including a snappy Latin-flavored setting of Stevie Wonder's 'Golden Lady' and a soulful yet upbeat chart of 'Betcha by Golly, Wow,' the latter a hit for a number of different artists. Trombonist Steve Davis adds a Latin flavor to his pulsing take of 'Stop! In the Name of Love,' a huge hit for the Supremes. Even jazz fans who aren't particularly connoisseurs of soul music will find much to like in this enjoyable CD." - Ken Dryden, AllMusic

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Eric Alexander, tenor sax
Jim Rotondi, trumpet
Steve Davis, trombone
David Hazeltine, piano
John Webber, bass
Joe Farnsworth, drums

1. What's Going On?
2. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
3. Let's Stay Together
4. Reasons
5. Golden Lady
6. For The Love Of You
7. Stop! In The Name Of Love
8. Moon Blue
9. Betcha By Golly, Wow

Recorded at The Studio in New York on May 29, 2007

Customers Also Like