Genre: Blues
Label: Stax
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Otis Redding Lonely & Blue The Deepest Soul Of Otis Redding LP (Blue Vinyl)

Otis Redding

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Collector's Blue Vinyl Edition! Mastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios! 12 Heart-Breaking Ballads from the King of Soul!

Deepest Soul was designed, both in song choice and packaging, to evoke the look and feel of a late '60s Stax Records album that Redding might have released at the height of his career, but, in fact, it's a collection that never existed...until now.  This is an album that hones in on one mood and one theme only - heartbreak.  Says producer David Gorman: "The goal of this album was to create the best album Otis never made and 'reissue' it in 2013 rather than do another 'hits' compilation."

The 'saddest, most potently heartbreaking songs (Otis) ever sang" were chosen for this compilation album, "Lonely & Blue: The Deepest Soul of Otis Redding". It happens to include a couple of hits "I've Been Loving You Too Long", and "These Arms of Mine", but not for the status they found on the charts but rather the forlorn subject matter.

The album has been produced to look and feel like a decades-old Stax/Volt LP - complete with LP wear marks on the cover!

Otis Redding tragically died in a plane crash in 1967 at only 26 years of age. With only six studio albums released from 1964-67, Redding became a giant in the music world. Posthumous releases cemented his reputation with such albums as the 1968 chart-topping album "The Dock Of the Bay".

• Special Collector's Blue Vinyl LP
• Mastered by George Horn
• Mastered at George Horn Mastering at Fantasy Studios

Side One:

1. I Love You More Than Words Can Say
2. Gone Again
3. Free Me
4. Open the Door (Skeleton Key version)
5. A Waste of Time
6. These Arms of Mine
Side Two:
1. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
2. Everybody Makes A Mistake
3. Little Ol' Me
4. I've Got Dreams To Remember (Rougher Dreams)
5. Send Me Some Lovin'
6. My Lover's Prayer

Customers Also Like