Genre: R&B
Label: Strut
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Patrice Rushen Straight From The Heart 2LP

Patrice Rushen

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Definitive Edition Of The Classic 1982 Album On Double LP!
All Tracks Remastered From The Original Tapes By Technology Works!
Includes Bonus EP!

Strut present the definitive edition of Patrice Rushen's landmark album from 1982, Straight From The Heart.

Recorded during Elektra's drive for "sophisticated dance music" as many jazz artists created their own arrangements of disco and boogie, the sessions marked a progression for Patrice as she began exploring sonics as much as songwriting. Singles from the album included "Breakout!," "Number One" and the global hit "Forget Me Nots." The album became Patrice's bestseller globally from her time with Elektra/Asylum, securing a Grammy nomination.

In more recent years, the album has become a regular source for samples in the world of hip hop and R&B. Most famously, Will Smith's theme for the film Men In Black and George Michael's "Fastlove" were both based, to varying degrees, on "Forget Me Nots."

Strut's new reissue of "Straight From The Heart" is presented in its full original artwork and feature bonus 12" versions of the album's singles including a previously unreleased extended mix of "Tired Of Being Alone." Package includes rare photos by Bobby Holland and a new interview with Patrice Rushen. All tracks remastered from the original tapes by Technology Works.

... [T]he material here is as slick as ever, but not at the expense of lighter rhythms or less memorable melodies.
-Andy Kellman,, 4.5/5 stars


  • Double LP
  • Bonus 12" versions of the album's singles
  • Previously unreleased extended mix of "Tired Of Being Alone"
  • Remastered from the original tapes by Technology Works
  • Original artwork
  • Full lyrics in oversized booklet
  • Rare photos by Bobby Holland
  • Extensive new interview with Patrice Rushen


LP 1

Side One:
  1. Forget Me Nots
  2. I Was Tired Of Being Alone
  3. All We Need
  4. Number One (Instrumental)
Side Two:
  1. Where There Is Love
  2. Breakout
  3. If Only
  4. Remind Me
  5. (She Will) Take You Down To Love

Bonus EP

Side Three:
  1. Forget Me Nots (12" Version)
  2. Breakout (12" Version)
Side Four:
  1. I Was Tired Of Being Alone (12" Version)
  2. Number One (12" Version)

Customers Also Like