Genre: Jazz
Label: Premonition


Patricia Barber Modern Cool CD

Patricia Barber

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This latest offering from the Chicago born piano player, in our eyes, even surpasses the now legendary Cafe Blue (in quality and quantity!). BLASPHEMY? we think not... Ms. Barber returns with even bigger chops than before.

An all together more musically cohesive album than Cafe Blue, Modern Cool further defines the always changing ‘Cool’ school of jazz. Powerful musicianship is employed tastefully and judiciously to original tunes as well as some interesting and refreshing covers; specifically: The Doors’ "Light my Fire", and Paul Anka’s "She’s a Lady". For a touch of added timbre Patricia calls on the support of the new genius in Chicago horn-men, Dave Douglas. She even brings in the commanding presence of the Choral Thunder Vocal Choir to help propel her adaptation of E.E. Cummings poem: "Love, put on your faces".

As can be expected, the sonics are what we have come to appreciate from engineer Jim Anderson: Big, Bold, and just plain outstanding! Will this new release impeach Cafe Blue out of its CEO standing within the audiophile community? Ultimately, we leave it in the capable hands of the voting electorate... Cast your ballad and order today!

1. Touch Of Trash
2. Winter
3. You & The Night & The Music
4. Constantinople
5. Light My Fire
6. Silent Partner
7. Company
8. Let It Rain
9. She's A Lady
10. Love Put On Your Faces
11. Postmodern Blues
12. Let It Rain-Vamp

Customers Also Like