Genre: Folk
Label: PGM
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Patty Griffin Patty Griffin 2LP

Patty Griffin

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Grammy Winning Folk Album On Double LP!

2020 Grammy Award Winner:
• Best Folk Album: Patty Griffin

GRAMMY® Award winner Patty Griffin releases her long-awaited album. The acclaimed singer-songwriter's 10th studio recording and first-ever eponymous LP arrives via her own PGM Recordings label via Thirty Tigers. The album was recorded predominantly at Griffin’s home in Austin, TX, with Griffin and longtime collaborator Craig Ross co-producing, while the band is made up of a number of friends and frequent accompanists, including Ross, guitarist David Pulkingham, drummer/percussionist Conrad Choucroun, cellist Lindsey Verrill, pianist Stephen Barber, and Robert Plant, who contributes backing vocals to the LP's "What Now" and "Coins".

There is no question that veteran singer-songwriter Patty Griffin's stunning 2015 release Servant Of Love was a milestone in her two decade and counting career. Nearly four years later, this self-titled follow-up confirms the previous set was no fluke. While nothing is as radical as Servant's title track with its Miles Davis-styled trumpet, there's plenty here to confirm that Griffin is one of folk music's most determined and genre-expanding artists. From the stark, stripped-down opening 'Mama's Worried,' with Griffin singing over David Pulkingham's nimble Spanish guitar, to 'What I Remember,' where she shifts into noir jazz/blues mode, and the world influence of the trancelike 'Boys from Tralee,' there is ample fresh, fertile ground covered. What hasn't changed is her emotionally laced voice and an often somber, melancholy outlook on life and love. That's especially evident in 'Had A Good Reason,' a wrenching exploration of why the protagonist's mother left, and the closing 'Just The Same,' a reflective observation of a dysfunctional relationship. These showcase a solo Griffin accompanying herself on guitar and piano. There are echoes of Joni Mitchell's landmark Blue with intimate stories that Griffin expresses in a solo environment. She even names a song 'River' (different than Joni's). But little approaches the force of 'The Wheel,' featuring a full band laying down a deep, swampy, Delta blues with a repeated lick as circular as the song's title. Its six-plus minutes pulse with increased intensity, unwinding with lyrics touching on everything from police brutality to war, as the singer's voice and the band's edgy attack create a powerful, hypnotic swirl. While fewer slow songs might better balance the often somber pacing, this hour-long program shows why Griffin is one of today's finest singer-songwriters; one who never rests on her impressive laurels by consistently challenging herself and her audience and coloring outside folk music's established boundaries.
-American Songwriter


  • Double LP
  • Vinyl pressed by MPO
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in the EU
  • Limited time download card


David Pulkingham guitar
Conrac Choucroun percussion
Lindsey Verrill cello
Stephen Barber piano
Robert Plant backing vocals ("What Now", "Coins")


Side A:

  1. Mama's Worried
  2. River
  3. Where I Come From

Side B:

  1. Hourglass
  2. Had A Good Reason
  3. Bluebeard
  4. What Now

Side C:

  1. Luminous Places
  2. Coins
  3. Boys From Tralee

Side D:

  1. The Wheel
  2. What I Remember
  3. Just The Same

Customers Also Like