Genre: Jazz
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Paul Robeson At Carnegie Hall 180g LP

Paul Robeson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g High Quality Pressing!
Re-mastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering!

A singer and actor, Paul Robeson was also a football player at Rutgers College. His involvement in politics led to his being blacklisted during the McCarthy era.

Robeson had an international music career, singing with a distinctive and powerful deep bass voice. For this concert recording, he is accompanied by pianist Alan Booth.

"This is a classic album, offering a measured, sometimes repressed emotional performance that is all the more powerful because of that. It is well mastered too while providing the only time that Robeson appears in stereo and recorded with more modern equipment." - Hi-Fi World, June 2016

"The singing legend is in excellent voice throughout, his rich bass-baritone reveling in performances of a repertory that encompassed Bach, Mussorgsky, Schubert, Dvorák, Beethoven, traditional gospel, Russian and Chinese folk songs, "Old Man River" from Show Boat, and monologues from Shakespeare and the opera Boris Godunov. With a piano accompaniment by Alan Booth, Robeson ranged across a huge part of his own performing history. The 60-year-old singer, despite the decade of artificially imposed inactivity, still had much of his vocal power intact and all his dramatic instincts, and makes every moment count in his performance, investing immense power in every note and nuance." - Bruce Eder,

• 180g High Quality Pressing
• Re-mastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

Paul Robeson, vocals
Alan Booth, piano

Side A:

1. Every Time I Feel the Spirit
2. Balm In Gilead
3. Volga Boat Song
4. Monologue From Othello (Shakespeare)
5. O Thou Silent Night (Alexadnrov)
6. Chinese Children's Song
7. My Curly Headed Baby (G.H. Clutsam)
8. Old Man River
9. Going Home (Dvorak, arr. Fisher)

Side B:
1. Monologue from Boris Godunov (Mussorgsky)
2. The Orphan (Mussorgsky)
3. Christ lag in Todesbanden (J.S. Bach)
4. Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel
5. Lullaby (Franz Schubert)
6. O No John
7. Joe Hill
8. Jacob's Ladder

Customers Also Like