Genre: Alternative
Label: New West
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Pernice Brothers Overcome by Happiness 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2LP (Orange & White Splatter Vinyl)

Pernice Brothers

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming May 19, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in-stock items will have all in-stock items shipped immediately!

25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Double LP!
Deluxe Edition Orange and White Splatter Vinyl!
Includes Hardback Book, Thumb Notch Pockets, Autographed 5x7 Photocard!

"You don't want your stuff to vanish," says Joe Pernice about the twenty-fifth anniversary reissue of Overcome By Happiness. "Not that I'm looking to get famous, but you need to connect with the world. There's something that reaffirms your own life in that echo that comes back to you—even if it's your own voice coming back."

The story of Overcome By Happiness is one of great risk and greater payoff. It's the story of a disgruntled country singer struggling to define himself against prevailing musical trends. It's the story of a songwriter just finding his voice, an artist so desperate to express himself that he scrapped one band to form another, risking his record contract and arguably his career to put the sounds he heard in his head onto tape. It's the story of a musician embracing the sounds of his childhood: AM easy listening, sophisticated chamber pop, baroque lounge music, Bread, the Carpenters, Bacharach, Manilow. It's the story of a poet driving through Massachusetts in a rusted-out Bonneville with a wooden bumper.

This time has come for this story to be told on vinyl. Released 25 years later to the day, New West Records is proud to present the remastered 25th anniversary edition of Overcome By Happiness on vinyl. This release features two orange and white splatter LPs held by thumb notch sleeves inside of a hardback book gatefold. The album audio also includes a 13 Track Bonus LP featuring 8 Previously Unreleased Demo Recordings The package features a 52-page book showcasing extensive liner notes, printed lyrics, forward and track by track written by Joe Pernice as well as previously unseen photographs. Each copy comes with a 5x7 autographed print.

It may be asking a lot of newcomers to dive in so deeply right out of the gate, but they are given a guiding hand via the detailed and brilliant liner notes by journalist Stephen Deusner that includes commentary from nearly everyone involved in the album's creation. For longtime fans of the group and the album, this is a delightful indulgence. Included in the deluxe reissue is a second LP of material that includes some singles and rough demos of the material from Overcome. Tucked into the bookbound package is a small envelope of lovely photos of the band, suitable for tacking to your cubicle wall or framing up nicely.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • 25th Anniversary
  • Double LP
  • Deluxe Edition Orange & White Splatter Vinyl
  • Hardback Book Gatefold
  • Thumb Notch Pockets
  • 5x7 Autographed Photocard
  • 52 Page Book Showcasing Extensive Liner Notes, Printed Lyrics, Forward and Track by Track Written by Joe Pernice
  • 13 Track Bonus LP Featuring Previously Unreleased Demo Recordings



Side A:
  1. Crestfallen
  2. Overcome by Happiness
  3. Sick of You
  4. Clear Spot
  5. Dimmest Star
  6. Monkey Suit
Side B:
  1. Chicken Wire
  2. Wait to Stop
  3. All I Know
  4. Shoes and Clothes
  5. Wherein Obscurely
  6. Ferris Wheel

Bonus LP

Side A:
  1. Jimmy Coma (1997 Sub Pop Single)
  2. Monkey Suit (1997 Sub Pop Single)
  3. Square World (1997 Summershine Single)
  4. In Plain Sight (1997 Summershine Single)
  5. Love My Way (Psychedelic Furs Cover / Clear Spot UK CD Single B-Side)
  6. Sick of You (Earliest Sketch Demo)
  7. Cut You Free (Demo)
Side B:
  1. Overcome by Happiness (Earliest Sketch Demo)
  2. Clear Spot (Earliest Sketch Demo)
  3. Dimmest Star (Earliest Sketch Demo)
  4. Song #2 (The Queen of NYC) (Earliest Demo)
  5. Courage Up (Demo)
  6. Let That Show (Demo)

Customers Also Like