Genre: Alternative
Label: Interscope
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Primus Brown Album 180g 2LP


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Fifth Studio Album On 180g Double LP!
Newly Remastered From Original Analog Tapes!
First Official Vinyl Pressing Since 1997!

Welcome to the wonderful world of Primus: a fantastic, colourful journey through demented novelty compositions and preposterous instrumental rollercoasters that take The Residents' and Frank Zappa's blueprints to the most bizarre heights. The results are a unique form of psycho jazz, bass-oriented metal and alt-rock psychedelia, in many ways exemplified by their 1997 release, Brown Album.

Led by musical genius and renowned world-class bassist Les Claypool, Primus formed in 1984 and initially released albums at a furious pace, from their live debut, 1989's Suck On This, through to 1999's Antipop, with an average gap of two years between each release. The band's curious song titles and head-scratching live shows resembled a drug-induced circus sideshow or adult-themed amusement park. In short, they were awesome. Though 1990's Frizzle Fry, the following year's, Sailing The Seas Of Cheese and 1993's Pork Soda are arguably the group's most defining albums, it was 1997's Brown Album that saw them take major steps forward in terms of songwriting. It also saw Primus experience their first major line-up change since the mid-'80s, when long-time drummer Tim "Herb" Alexander abruptly quit (to be replaced by Brian "Brain" Mantia), and ex-Possessed guitarist Larry LaLonde was drafted in to bolster the line-up.

"We were getting a drummer that plays totally different to Herb", Les Claypool explained in an interview with Consequence of Sound. "Herb was always this Neil Peart type of drummer with so many drums. Brain was much more like John Bonham; it was a smaller kit but with bigger drums. He was a much sparser player, but more groove-oriented. It was also another one of those records where we took all the vintage recording gear and did it all ourselves, so it had the really raw sound to it."

Considering Primus' evolution from their wildly unpredictable funk-metal fusion to country-tinged, alternative psych-jazz, the band ensured that their consistently eccentric approach kept listeners locked in an almost hypnotic state of consciousness across their nine albums. Brown Album ultimately remains a display of extraordinary musicianship and hyper-cross-pollinated musical innovation. Recorded completely analogue at Claypool's rural Rancho Relaxo home, there is a lot of magic between its grooves, along with a tremendous amount of passion and courageous soul that assisted Claypool and co in becoming one of the most highly regarded bands in the alt-metal/rock history books.

"We loved the record when we made it," recalled Claypool. "It wasn't as warmly received at the time, but a lot of people have told me that it's their favorite record because it's this bizarre departure from what we were doing before. It holds a very strong place in the history of the band, but at the time, I don't think the label was nearly as thrilled as we were."

• Double LP
• 180g Vinyl
• Newly remastered from the original analog tapes
• First official vinyl pressing since 1997
• Original packaging
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time download card sticker for full-fidelity WAVs (Offer expires December 31, 2020)

Side 1:

1. The Return Of Sathington Willoughby
2. Fisticuffs
3. Golden Boy
4. Over The Falls
Side 2:
1. Shake Hands With Beef
2. Camelback Cinema
3. Hats Off
4. Puddin' Taine
Side 3:
1. Bob's Party Time Lounge
2. Duchess And The Proverbial Mind Spread
3. Restin' Bones
Side 4:
1. Coddingtown
2. Kalamazoo
3. The Chastising Of Renegade
4. Arnie

Customers Also Like