Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Legacy
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Prince The Rainbow Children 2LP (Crystal Clear Vinyl)


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Concept Album On Limited Edition Crystal Clear Vinyl 2LP + Exclusive Rainbow Slipmat!

As the world greeted the promise of a new millennium, even Prince was experiencing a great sense of transformation. In 2000, he announced the reclamation of his birth name after seven years as an unpronounceable symbol. In 2001, after a period of study and debate with his friend and mentor Larry Graham (former bassist for Sly and The Family Stone), Prince converted to the Jehovah's Witness faith. These transformations bore fruit with the release of The Rainbow Children at the end of 2001.

Billed as "controversial" in its press materials for its open spiritual message, the jazz-inspired record was Prince's first fully independent release, issued without any major label backing. One of its songs, "The Work, Pt. 1", was released by Prince as a free download on the file-sharing service Napster; this move, along with direct-to-consumer stream and download options on the NPG Music Club, made Prince a digital music visionary.

The Rainbow Children is a continued favorite among Prince's most fervent admirers due to its complex musical narrative, its use of live drums and a full horn section, and the striking album art by artist Cbabi Bayoc, which still hangs in the hallowed halls of Paisley Park today. The CD has long been out of print and the original vinyl was incredibly limited and copies fetch hundreds of dollars. This new double LP vinyl edition comes on limited edition crystal clear vinyl packaged in gatefold packaging along with an exclusive Prince rainbow slipmat.


  • Limited Edition Crystal Clear Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • 8mm spine gatefold jacket
  • 16 page booklet
  • Exclusive Prince rainbow slipmat
  • Official release of The Prince Estate
  • Limited time download
  • Made in the EU


Side A:

  1. Rainbow Children
  2. Muse 2 The Pharaoh
  3. Digital Garden

Side B:

  1. The Work Pt. 1
  2. Everywhere
  3. The Sensual Everafter
  4. Mellow

Side C:

  1. 1+1+1 Is 3
  2. Deconstruction
  3. Wedding Feast
  4. She Loves Me 4 Me
  5. Family Name

Side D:

  1. The Everlasting Now
  2. Last December

Customers Also Like