Prokofiev Romeo & Juliet Suites Nos. 1 & 2 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
As is widely known, ballet suites are the "little sisters" of large ballet compositions that have been compiled by the composer mostly at a later date for performance in the concert hall. Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet is another story however. Strangely enough, his two Suites were given their first performance before the premiere of the complete ballet. The applause can still be heard echoing through the world of music. This music is one of the pillars of a good record collection - and with good reason. Both Suites contain a wealth of delightful melodies that are given substance by colorful harmonic writing. Just how ideal Prokofiev can sound is brought to us by Stanislaw Skrowacziewski and the Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra. In the first Suite he lets his musicians sweep with elan through the Burlesque, the splendor of the Love Theme is full of lyrical intensity and rises to a forceful climax filled with sharp dissonances in Death of Tybalt. The Second Suite, too, is of the very highest standard, both from an artistic and recording point of view. The characteristic themes and motifs are well contoured and brought to the fore while embedded in a fresh and natural carpet of sound which is sometimes filled with immense warmth. It is clearly noticeable that all participants have given much time and thought to this first-rate production. And the listener will certainly enjoy giving over a good portion of his leisure time to this delightful music.

Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra
Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, conductor

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Romeo and Juliet
Ballet Suites Nos. 1 and 2
1. Folk Dance
2. A Scene
3. Madrigal
4. Minuet (The Arrival of the Guests)
5. Masks
6. Romeo and Juliet (Balcony Scene)
7. The Death Of Tybalt
8. The Montagues and the Capulets
9. Juliet - The Little Girl
10. Dance
11. Romeo and Juliet Before Parting
12. Dance of the Maids From The Antilles
13. Romeo At Juliet's Tomb

Customers Also Like