Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


R.E.M. New Adventures In Hi-Fi (25th Anniversary) 180g 2LP


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

25th Anniversary Reissue On 180g Vinyl 2LP!
Remastered With Lacquers Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!
Pressed at RTI!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Celebrating the 25th anniversary of R.E.M.'s tenth studio album, New Adventures In Hi-Fi, this special pressing - replicating the original gatefold package - offers the newly remastered album across 2-LPs, pressed on 180-gram vinyl, with lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio. The platinum-selling album features the singles "Bittersweet Me", "Electrolite" and "E-Bow The Letter".

First released in September 1996, New Adventures in Hi-Fi endures as one of R.E.M.'s most acclaimed albums and stands as a favorite among band members and fans alike. The album was a global success, achieving platinum certification in the US and peaking at No.2 on the Billboard 200. Elsewhere, the album went to No.1 in more than a dozen countries, including Australia, the UK, and Canada. Critically, New Adventures in Hi-Fi received wide praise and was named as one of the best albums of the year by such outlets as Rolling Stone, Spin, Mojo, Entertainment Weekly, and the NME. Over the decades, the title has achieved cult status, with several press retrospectives ranking it among the top albums in R.E.M.'s rich catalog of releases.

Recorded at the height of their fame, New Adventures in Hi-Fi also marks R.E.M.'s final album with drummer and founding member Bill Berry, who left the group amicably the following year. Perhaps most remarkable, however, is that the album found the band taking a unique creative approach: writing and recording much of the LP on the road, during their 1995 Monster tour.

While writing new material on the road wasn't an unusual feat for R.E.M., New Adventures was unlike anything they had done before. As they embarked on tour, the band sought to create an abstract travelogue documenting every emotion and experience as it happened. "We wanted to make a record about being on the road without singing about being on the road," bassist Mike Mills explains in the liner notes. "The idea was that the feeling of being on the road would come through in the sound and feel of the record itself."

The band traveled with a mobile recording truck, capturing new songs on an 8-track during soundchecks (as well as in various backstage areas and on the tour bus). "The idea was, 'Let's challenge ourselves,'" guitarist Peter Buck tells journalist Mark Blackwell. "My feeling was, it'll show exactly where we're at right now in a way that maybe some of the records don't at all. This record was just an attempt to be who we were at that minute."

The year-long outing, which began in January 1995, marked R.E.M.'s first tour in six years. As one of the biggest bands in the world, the quartet played to packed arenas across North America, Europe, Australia, and Japan, with support from acts like Sonic Youth and Radiohead. But along the way, the tour was marred by medical emergencies. In March, Berry collapsed on stage from an aneurism and spent the next month recuperating. Mills, meanwhile, underwent intestinal surgery in June. A month later, Stipe had emergency surgery for a hernia (which, he asserts, occurred while performing the song, "Undertow").

After the band returned from the eventful - yet highly successful - run of dates, they entered the studio with their longtime producer, Scott Litt, to record a few final tracks and put finishing touches on others. Among them was the epic, seven-minute-long "Leave"; "E-Bow The Letter" featuring backing vocals from the legendary singer-songwriter Patti Smith; "New Test Leper", which Buck proclaims is his favorite R.E.M. song; and "How The West Was Won And Where It Got Us", one of several songs on the album inspired by Stipe's experiences living in Los Angeles.

Upon its release, New Adventures in Hi-Fi marked R.E.M.'s longest studio album, with a total run-time of 65 minutes. Filled with cinematic storytelling, haunting effects, and dissonant notes, New Adventures in Hi-Fi found R.E.M. exploring diverse sonic territories - particularly in songs like "Low Desert" which, Berry describes, is "just dusty and kind of slow and it's swampy...I feel isolated when I listen to that song, but it's a good thing." Stipe adds that the song offers such questions as, "What are we doing in the desert? What are we doing in the American West? What are we doing in this unlivable, uninhabitable place?" Other tracks, like "Departure" and "The Wake-Up Bomb" deliver classic R.E.M. rock vibes.

The band looks back on New Adventures in Hi-Fi with great pride. Buck, perhaps, sums it up best. "Most records, you go in the studio and you just do 'em. And years later all you really remember is vaguely where you stayed, and the songs and the recording process. But this one I remember every bit of it. It was an experience. It was f**king tough, but we made a record. And it was as challenging as anything I've ever done."

Fresh from the experience of making Monster, arguably the group's loudest record, and surviving the aneurysm that felled drummer Bill Berry, R.E.M. were feeling confident in their abilities as a band. So much so that they decided to use the off-hours of their 1995-96 tour to craft the material for their next album, 1996's New Adventures in Hi-Fi. The volume and drive of Monster remained but it was kept in check with songs that felt closer to the dark, jangling spirit of Automatic For The People. They sought such ground later, but it was only on Adventures that they reached it and planted their flag with the smoky beauty of 'E-Bow The Letter' and 'New Test Leper,' and the oxidized crumble of 'The Wake-Up Bomb' and 'Binky The Doormat.' While the deluxe CD version of this 25th anniversary re-release is packed with bonus stuff, the vinyl edition sticks to the original tracklist with some nicely fattened sound. It's more than enough.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • 25th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Remastered
  • Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Gatefold jacket


Side One:

  1. How The West Was Won And Where It Got Us
  2. The Wake-Up Bomb
  3. New Test Leper

Side Two:

  1. Undertow
  2. E-Bow The Letter
  3. Leave

Side Three:

  1. Departure
  2. Bittersweet Me
  3. Be Mine
  4. Binky The Doormat

Side Four:

  1. Zither
  2. So Fast, So Numb
  3. Low Desert
  4. Electrolite

Customers Also Like