Genre: Blues
Label: Fat Possum
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


R.L. Burnside First Recordings 180g LP

R.L. Burnside

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
The raw, powerful, authentic delta blues emanating from Mississippi's legend R.L. Burnside on First Recordings will please blues purists and audiophiles alike. Recorded in 1968 by George Mitchell utilizing "a portable $168 recorder, a shack and lots of cheap rum", Burnside's dynamic voice, footstomp and acoustic guitar encapsulate the emerging mastery of a voice unmarked by 35 years of Northern Mississippi hard living.

Opening track, "Just Like a Bird without a Feather" is a slow, haunting tune that starts out with R.L. singing to his lover whom he misses because he has murdered her for "cheatin'", and now after sentencing, "home ain't where it used to be". From jail, we hop on a train "Goin' Down South" for a tune about getting the hell out of the North and going back home (most likely inspired by Burnside's stint in Chicago during the 50's when his father, brother, and uncle were all murdered within a month's time.) The track rumbles like a locomotive and features Burnside's fierce, chugging guitar work. Other tracks like "Walkin' Blues" also showcase Burnside's monster slide chops.

Recorded by George Mitchell in 1968.

• Limited Edition 180g Vinyl

1. Just Like A Bird Without A Feather
2. Goin' Down South
3. Come On In
4. Little Babe
5. Rollin' And Tumblin'
6. Jumper On The Line
7. Skinny Woman
8. Poor Black Mattie
9. Long Haired Doney
10. Peaches
11. Walkin' Blues
12. Hobo Blues
13. My Time Ain't Long
14. Sat Down On My Bed And Cried

Customers Also Like