Rameau Une Symphonie Imaginaire Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SHM-SACD


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD.

Une Symphonie Imaginaire is Minkowski’s own collection of 17 orchestral pieces from 11 of Rameau’s operas, compiled into a dramatic cycle that represents both the world of French Baroque dance music and the origins of French symphonic music. What emerges is a programme that is as dramatic as it is delightful and easily accessible! With this recording the musical universe of Rameau is captured in an entirely new programme concept by one of the most popular interpreters of French Baroque music.

Marc Minkowski has collected about 20 orchestral pieces from 11 of Rameau’s operas and has put them together into a dramatic cycle that represents both the world of French Baroque dance music and the origins of French symphonic music.

Minkowski’s earlier recordings of music by Rameau, also with his Musiciens du Louvre, have received numerous critics’ prizes including two Diapasons d’or and the Record Academy Prize of Tokyo.

"There was no puzzling, religious world-view to get in the way of a suite of Rameau's most delectable dances compiled by Minkowski. Here you could just enjoy the parade of colours and rhythms, played with amazing vividness and sparkling virtuosity." - Daily Telegraph (London), 2003

• Super High Material Super Audio CD
• SHM-SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• Single-Layer Stereo SHM-SACD, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!

Les Musiciens du Louvre
Marc Minkowski, conductor

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764)
Une Symphonie imaginaire

1. Zais: Ouverture
2. Castor et Pollux: Scene funebre
3. Les Fetes d'Hebe: Air tendre
4. Les Fetes d'Hebe: Musette & Tambourin
5. Dardanus: Tambourins
6. Le Temple de la Gloire: Air tendre pour les Muses
7. Les Boreades: Contredanse Gavottes pour les Heures et les Zephirs
8. Les Boreades: Prelude
9. Les Boreades: Entree de Polymnie
10. La Naissance d'Osiris: Air gracieux
11. Platee: Orage
12. Concert No. 6 en Sextuor: La Poule
13. Hippolyte & Aricie: Ritournelle
14. Nais: Rigaudons
15. Les Indes galantes: Danse des Sauvages
16. Entree De Polymni (Act 4, Scene 4)
17. Les Indes galantes: Chaconne

Recorded live at the Theatre de Poissy

Customers Also Like