Genre: Folk
Label: Stockfisch


Ranagri Fort of The Hare Hybrid Stereo SACD


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Audiophile SACD Sound!

Ranagri (pronounced Ran-ag-rye) is a venture from four musicians who have come together to create some exciting new sounds. Consisting of flutes, ethnic flutes, electric harp, bodhran, guitar, bouzouki and vocals, Ranagri fuse worldwide folk music with quality contemporary songwriting, enhanced by virtuosic instrumentals, vibrant rhythms and haunting melodies, all interlaced with vivid storytelling.

October's gold in endless supply - late roses basking in the sun's mild rays. Knarled tree branches laden with ripened fruit. And that clear, fathomless blue. If this were to be captured in music, then what could it sound like? Just perhaps, not so unlike "Fort of The Hare," Ranagri's debut album on Stockfisch. Ranagri sound like a precious, unspoiled spot of beauty - the Irish village of Ranagri that gave the band its name. The four Londoners marry musical influences ranging from classical, folk and blues. If their story did not exist, it would have to be invented.

Four London musicians; one traditional Irish player, two classically trained, and one blues singer and guitarist, all with a passion for folk music. A meeting in a pub in Richmond and the story of 'Ranagri the band' begins.

Donal Rogers (vocals and guitar), Eliza Marshall (flutes/ethnic whistles), Jean Kelly (electric harp) and Tad Sargent (bodhran and bouzouki) are all very well established within the music industry. They have recorded and performed with many artists including Stevie Wonder, Radiohead, Peter Gabriel, Paloma Faith, Cara Dillon, Luke Daniels, Hans Zimmer, Ennio Morricon, James Horner... the list goes on. However, between them all lies one common thread - the desire to have their own band and play their own music.

The hybrid combination of these players brings a melting pot of creativity. Such different musical backgrounds makes for a fantastic mixture of new sounds and ideas.

"How often do you hear a sound that's completely new, which has great energy and immediately makes you want to dance? I'll be following Ranagri around, I hope they don't mind..." -Katie Derham, presenter BBC Proms and Radio 3

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Donal Rogers, vocals and guitar
Eliza Marshall, flutes/ethnic whistles
Jean Kelly, electric harp
Tad Sargent, bodhran and bouzouki

1. Cold Shallow
2. The Bogeyman
3. Atlas
4. I Wonder
5. Sad Songs
6. Spooky International
7. You Can Do Better
8. The Hare
9. Strange World
10. The Rhythm Takes You Back
11. Tremors
12. Under-Discovered

Total playing time - 48'10"

Customers Also Like