Genre: R&B
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Ray Charles Modern Sounds in Country & Western Music LP

Ray Charles

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Integration of Soul & Country Music On Vinyl LP!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 127/500!

Regarded by many critics as Ray Charles's best studio album, Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music is a landmark album in American music. The album's integration of soul and country music bent racial barriers in popular music, amid the height of the Civil Rights Movement. In the process of recording the album, Charles became one of the first African-American musicians to exercise complete artistic control over his own recording career.

"Ray Charles was an avowed fan of country music and felt he could add something to the rootsy sound that he grew up with. So as his success was heading towards its peak and his power in the industry grew, he took the daring move to record 12 of his favorite country tunes, infusing them with the blues and jazz swing he was already known for and exposing how all these genres were influencing one another through the first half of the 20th century. The hit album and its sequel have been in and out of print since their initial release in 1962, with the most recent pressings arriving last month. And the first volume (the only one we were sent to review) has a nice sheen to it. Bob Fisher's remastering work is subtle, gently turning up the lights on Charles's inimitable vocals and bringing the rhythm section further out of the shadows. The ache of ballads like 'Born To Lose' and 'I Can't Stop Loving You' and the winking joy of 'Bye Bye Love' are still present, protected behind glass. Fisher just gives it once over with a fine chamois." - Paste Magazine

• Vinyl LP

Side 1:

1. Bye Bye Love
2. You Don't Know Me
3. Half As Much
4. I Love You So Much It Hurts
5. Just A Little Lovin' (Will Go A Long Way)
6. Born To Lose
Side 2:
1. Worried Mind
2. It Makes No Difference Now
3. You Win Again
4. Careless Love
5. I Can't Stop Loving You
6. Hey, Good Lookin'

Customers Also Like