Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Thirty Tigers
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Rickie Lee Jones The Other Side of Desire 180g LP

Rickie Lee Jones

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
First New Music from Jones in Over a Decade on 180g Vinyl!

Two-time Grammy winner Rickie Lee Jones exploded onto the pop scene with her groundbreaking self-titled debut and has made a career of fearlessly experimenting with her sound and persona over 15 critically acclaimed albums. Her latest, The Other Side of Desire, was written, recorded and rooted in the city of New Orleans, where Jones lives on the opposite side of the street made famous by the Tennessee Williams play. Produced by John Porter (of Roxy Music) and Mark Howard, Desire is the first new music Jones has written in over a decade.

The Other Side of Desire could not have been written without the backdrop of New Orleans; its river, trains, barroom ghosts and sudden bands all playing the same song. "On this side, things are a little slower, friendlier, more old-fashioned than the rest of the world," describes Rickie. "A little poorer perhaps, and a bit more dangerous than it ought to be, but I love it here."

The opening track "Jimmy Choos" is classic Jones, a song designed to make us feel better while telling the story of a well-dressed lady throwing pop bottles off a rooftop. "I thought she might be a transvestite, but in the end it didn't matter," adds Rickie. "Whomever is wearing those shoes, come out tonight, someone loves you." The Cajun waltz "Valtz de Mon Pere (Lovers' Oath)" is remembering what it's like to be 'the lover,' and the honky-tonk blues "J'ai Connias Pas" is the tale of not getting picked up in a bar.

The hymn-like "Infinity" is Jones' belief that there is no beginning and no end, and we are all riding waves of light. She describes "Feet on the Ground" as "Gladys Knight Soul meets Abbey Road ballad in the alley for a dime bag." "Christmas in New Orleans" is an amalgam of recent ballads Jones had written. The song speaks for a generation and a time of great love: How could we explain a time as crazy as ours / How would I explain a love / that fell down from the stars / and burned a light into the dark / that was my life for a while.

"This work is inspired by many years of not writing anything and sitting with all the events of my life until I had something to paint with," says Rickie. "So now, no beret, no boyfriends, no badass bravado. I am badass. But who cares…I have had many decades to live with fame, and I understand it now better than I did when I was young. What I do not and do desire, and what I am able to accept, and give. These things come to me now, the great tidings of age."

• 180g Vinyl
• Gatefold Jacket
• Includes a download of the LP and one bonus song

Side A:

1. Jimmy Choos
2. Valtz de Mon Pere (Lovers' Oath)
3. J'ai Connais Pas
4. Blinded By the Hunt
5. Infinity
Side B:
1. I Wasn't Here
2. Christmas In New Orleans
3. Haunted
4. Feet On the Ground
5. Finale; (A Spider In the Circus of The Falling Star)

Customers Also Like