Rufus Wainwright Folkocracy 2LP

Rufus Wainwright

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Star-Studded Folk Album on Double LP!
Features John Legend, Sheryl Crow, Brandi Carlile, Andrew Bird, David Byrne & More!

TAS Rated 4.5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the October 2023 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

2024 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Best Folk Album: Folkocracy

Rufus Wainwright has announced Folkocracy, a star-studded album of folk music reinventions that sees the 2x GRAMMY® Award-nominated singer-songwriter joined by a spectacular collection of friends, family members, and other special guest artists that includes Brandi Carlile, John Legend, David Byrne, Sheryl Crow, Nicole Scherzinger, Chaka Khan, Andrew Bird, ANOHNI, Susanna Hoffs, Van Dyke Parks, Madison Cunningham, and many more.

While the album does delve into unusually - for Wainwright - rustic traditional fare, selections keep listeners on their toes by not only broadly defining folk, but with a slew of diverse guest singers and arrangements that, at least occasionally, stray into lush orchestral territory.
-Marcy Donelson,
There's a sentimental quality to Folkocracy, a two-LP set of original, covers, and trad songs produced by Mitchell Froom, but this is not cafe-style or trad-folk music, Wainwright's pairing with Van Dyke Parks has an artsy Roma vibe, and guest artists include Brandi Carlile, John Legend, David Byrne, Sheryl Crow, Susanna Hoffs, Chaka Khan, and Andrew Bird. Wainwright's sublime voice still has a dramatic flair, as heard on the beautiful duet 'Alone' with West Coast folk-rocker Madison Cunningham.
-Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, October 2023, Music 4.5/5, Sonics 4.5/5


  • Double LP
  • Gold-Foil Gatefold Cover
  • 12-Page Booklet
  • Made in Czech Republic


Side A:

  1. Alone (feat. Madison Cunningham)
  2. Heading for Home (feat. John Legend)
  3. Twelve-Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming to the Canyon) [feat. Susanna Hoffs, Chris Stills, Sheryl Crow]
  4. Down in the Willow Garden (feat. Brandi Carlile)
  5. Shenandoah

Side B:

  1. Nacht und Träume
  2. Harvest (feat. Andrew Bird, Chris Stills)
  3. Going to a Town (feat. ANOHNI)
  4. High on a Rocky Ledge (feat. David Byrne)
  5. Kaulana Na Pua (feat. Nicole Scherzinger)

Side C:

  1. Hush Little Baby (feat. Martha Wainwright, Lucy Wainwright Roche)
  2. Black Gold (feat. Van Dyke Parks)
  3. Cotton Eyed Joe (feat. Chaka Khan)

Side D:

  1. Arthur McBride
  2. Wild Mountain Thyme (feat. Anna McGarrigle, Lily Lanken, Martha Wainwright, Chaim Tannenbaum, Lucy Wainwright Roche)

Customers Also Like