Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Rumer Boys Don't Cry Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Michael Fremer Rated 9/10 Music, 8/10 Sonics in his June 2013 reviews on!

First 1,000 Copies To Be Numbered! Don't Miss Out - Order Your Copy Now!

Mastered by Bob Ludwig & Cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman's! Pressed at Pallas!

Here's Something To Get Excited About! Take An Angelic Voice Like Karen Carpenter's - Add A Touch Of Soul - And You Get The Heavenly Vocals Of 'Rumer'! Not To Be Missed!!!

Following her double platinum debut, Rumer is back with her album Boys Don't Cry! Exploring the timeless works of Jimmy Webb, Neil Young, Townes Van Zandt, Isaac Hayes and many more!

For her second album, Rumer exquisitely covers songs like Sara Smile, P.F. Sloan and Soulsville. There are not enough words to describe just how beautiful is her music. Just One Listen And You'll Be Hooked!!!

Rumer (Sarah Joyce) will take you back to the early '70s when The Carpenters were at their peak and all over the radio with hits like "Close To You", "We've Only Just Begun" and "(They Long To Be) Close To You". 

Sarah Joyce, better known by her stage name Rumer, is a singer/songwriter who has been compared by many to Karen Carpenter.

Under the name Sarah Prentice, she sang with a moderately successful London-based folk/indie band called La Honda from 2000 and 2001. In 2004, she formed the band Rumer & The Denials and had released an early version of Come to Me High on 7" in 2007. Also released recorded in 2007 was a collection of solo material, "Coffee and Honey", which was released in South Korea under her real name, Sarah Joyce, in 2010.

Rumer was born and spent the very early years of her life in Pakistan. Her father's engineering job led her along with six other siblings to Darbela Dam, 30 miles northwest of Islamabad. Previously, the job had taken them to the Western Australian outback and Tasmania as well as to South Africa. Her brother Rob gave Rumer her first guitar which she taught herself to play, and years later, she wrote all the songs on her debut album, Seasons of My Soul.

Life changed when the family returned to the UK and settled in the New Forest. Her parents having separated, Rumer was educated in Carlisle with her Dad, and spent summers in the New Forest. She left school at 16, and began to drift; studying at Art College in Devon and then joining a fledgling indie rock band, La Honda. Plays from Radio 1 followed, as did early support from NME.

Her mother died in 2003, and Rumer hit rock bottom. The lyrics of songs like ‘Healer' document Rumer's journey through grief. On the dole and back in London, Rumer took action. She traveled to a stately home in the countryside, where she essentially lived as part of a commune, owned by a "charismatic, philanthropic baronet.

Rumer's luck changed when she met award-winning TV and musical composer Steve Brown (It's A Wonderful Life, Spend, Spend Spend) at the Cobden Club in Kensal Rise. Rumer and Steven worked together and produced the first single ‘Slow'. Having been signed to ATC Management, all corners of the industry quickly began angling for her signature. Then her hard work paid off, and Rumer finally signed to Atlantic Records. She released Seasons of My Soul, her self-penned debut album in 2010.

Rumer appeared on Episode 57 of 'Live From Daryl's House'. Daryl Hall and Rumer performed live soulful versions of Sara Smile, I Can't Go For That, Slow and more!

"Often obscure selections by marginal's unbelievable how believable she sounds. It really does sound like another season in her soul. "Album of the Week" - Observer

"Songs worth learning especially when sung as gorgeously as this" 4/5 - Independent On Sunday

"A gorgeous album" - The Times

"[S]oothingly hypnotic, mesmerizing voice... She’s the antithesis of say, Katy Perry for instance. She doesn’t shriek, she’s not salacious and she fits neatly into what might be called 'easy listening'... The songs are superb of course—musically varied, achingly melodic, meticulously minor key and chosen to suit Rumer’s soothing yet somehow forlorn voice... The guitar/bass/drum-based arrangements are subtle and sumptuous by today’s threadbare standards, particularly in their use of soothing background singers... Rumer’s voice is particularly well-recorded and like good chicken 'minimally processed' but definitely not 'air chilled'... the songs will resonate strongly with those familiar with them and for younger listeners perhaps help open pathways to great music from an era that seems like yesterday for some and 'olden days' for others. Put this on late at night and you’re sure to sit enthralled from beginning to end both because of the pop songwriting quality that seems to be in deep decline today and because Rumer’s voice is so magically in tune with the lyrical intent." - Michael Fremer,, Music 9/10, Sound 8/10

• First 1,000 Copies To Be Numbered
• 180g Vinyl
• Mastered by Bob Ludwig & Cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman's
• Pressed at Pallas

Side A:

1. P.F. Sloan
2. Travelin' Boy
3. Sara Smile
4. Be Nice To Me
5. The Same Old Tears On A New Background
6. Soulsville
Side B:
1. Welcome Back
2. Flyin' Shoes
3. Just For A Moment
4. It Could Be The First Day
5. Brave Awakening
6. A Man Needs A Maid

Customers Also Like