Ryuichi Sakamoto Ongaku Zukan Import LP & 45rpm 7" Vinyl

Ryuichi Sakamoto

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming September 29, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

First-Ever International Release!
Remastered by Saidera Mastering in Tokyo!
Includes a Bonus 7" with Additional Tracks!

LP version, includes 7" with two extra tracks: "Replica" and "Ma Mère l'Oye."

The first-ever international release of Ryuichi Sakamoto's landmark 1984 album, Ongaku Zukan, originally issued in Japan on his own School label in 1984. Remastered by Saidera Mastering in Tokyo.

The early '80s were a turning point for Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto. As a solo artist, the smash-hit soundtrack he had composed for 1983's Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence had put him on the verge of becoming a global superstar. Meanwhile, he had called a halt to his work with Yellow Magic Orchestra, the influential, globally successful pop trio calling it quits after the release of their 1983 album Naughty Boys. Against this backdrop, Sakamoto descended on Tokyo's Onkyo Haus Studio to record his fourth solo album, Ongaku Zukan ("Musical Encyclopedia"), accompanied by a handful of musicians, including his ex-YMO partners Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi, and the prolifically talented Yasuaki Shimizu, Tatsuro Yamashita and Toshinori Kondo.

It was on his return to the studio the following year that the album truly began to take shape. Released in August 1984, the album Ongaku Zukan proved a huge success, providing Sakamoto with his first top five hit in Japan. Filled with inspired melodies that showcase his unique gift as a composer, it offers up a fascinating mix of styles.

Featuring remastered audio with bonus tracks and new liner notes by Andy Beta, this is the very first time that the two 1984 Japanese editions of Ryuichi Sakamoto's classic album have been released internationally in collaboration with the artist's management and Midi Inc., with remastered audio and the original artwork faithfully reproduced.


  • First-Ever International Release
  • Vinyl LP
  • 45rpm 7" Vinyl - 2 Bonus Tracks
  • Remastered by Saidera Mastering in Tokyo
  • Liner Notes by Andy Beta
  • Released in Collaboration with the Artist's Management & Midi Inc.
  • Original Artwork Faithfully Reproduced
  • OBI Strip
  • Import



  1. Tibetan Dance
  2. Etude
  3. Paradise Lost
  4. Self Portrait
  5. 旅の極北 (Tabi No Kyokuhoku)
  6. M.A.Y. In the Backyard
  7. 羽の林で (Hane No Hayashi De)
  8. 森の人 (Mori No Hito)
  9. A Tribute to N.J.P.

7" Vinyl

  1. Replica
  2. マ・メール・ロワ (Ma Mère l'Oye)

Customers Also Like