Genre: Blues
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Sam Cooke My Kind of Blues LP

Sam Cooke

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Ninth Studio Album Reissued On Vinyl LP!

Sam Cooke was such an important pioneer of soul music that he was commonly known as the king of the genre. His distinctive emotive voice is one of the most easily recognizable of all in popular music and his work paved the way for countless other giants, including Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield and Al Green, among many others. A native of Clarksdale in northwest Mississippi that was raised in Chicago, he was the fifth of eight children born to a Pentecostal minister. Beginning his career with his siblings as The Singing Children, he led gospel group The Highway QCs in his teens and then joined The Soul Stirrers, reaching greater glory upon going solo in the mid-1950s, when he scored the first of many number-one hits for the short-lived Keen label, and then reached a wider audience upon switching to RCA in 1960. My Kind Of Blues was recorded for the label in 1961 (just as Cooke was launching his own SAR Records imprint), being a collection of show tunes and jazz standards, delivered in a soulful blues style by Cooke atop lush orchestration, arranged and conducted by trumpeter and bandleader, Sammy Lowe. Highlights include a suave version of Duke Ellington’s "I'm Just A Lucky So And So", a cool cut of "Nobody Loves You When You're Down And Out", a stirring take of George Gershwin's "But Not For Me" and a lovely rendition of Irving Berlin's "The Song Is Ended".


  • Vinyl LP
  • Bonus Tracks


Sam Cooke vocals
Sammy Lowe conductor


Side 1:

  1. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  2. Little Girl Blue
  3. Nobody Knows When You're Down And Out
  4. Out In The Cold Again
  5. But Not For Me
  6. Exactly Like You
  7. Sad Mood (Bonus Track)

Side 2:

  1. I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  2. Since I Met You Baby
  3. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  4. Trouble In Mind
  5. You're Always On My Mind
  6. The Song Is Ended
  7. Teenage Sonata (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like