Sheku Kanneh-Mason Song 2LP

Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Sheku's Most Personal Album Yet on 2LP!

The Sheku Kanneh-Mason story continues. The celebrated cellist's 2022 solo album reveals more about the star and what inspires him than ever before. Entitled Song (referring to the unique singing tone of the cello) and released on Decca Classics, this is Sheku's most personal album yet, presenting a musical portrait of the gifted musician.

Stretching from Bach to Bacharach and beyond, Song sees Sheku present an extraordinary kaleidoscope of music spanning four centuries. He and his cello travel effortlessly from simple folk tunes through to classical works including Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Stravinsky, to jazz melodies and an original pop song, co-written by the cellist himself - all the while demonstrating his innate ability to communicate with his listeners. This eclectic mix of styles, all tied together by the striking sound of Sheku's cello, reflects his breadth as a musician, demonstrating how he takes inspiration from many genres.

The record follows Sheku's two previous Classical No.1 solo albums, Inspiration (2018) and Elgar (2020), with the latter reaching No.8 in the Official UK Album Chart, making him the first cellist in the history of the UK Charts to break into the Top 10.

Since his last record-breaking solo album, Sheku has been awarded an MBE at Buckingham Palace for services to music, featured in two BBC documentaries about the Kanneh-Mason family and released two albums with his siblings (Carnival, with all six siblings, and duets album Muse with sister Isata Kanneh-Mason, who features on four Song tracks). He has continued both to tour the globe performing in the world's greatest concert halls as well as lead workshops as Ambassador for UK music charity Music Masters, while accumulating over 215 million global streams.

On Song, as well as performing solo, Sheku is joined by some of the musicians he loves working with, collaborating with both family and friends while showcasing his skills as both arranger and composer. He opens with his own versions of two beautiful folk tunes, one of them being "Myfanwy," his Welsh grandmother's favorite song, arranged here for three cellos (all played by Sheku).

Sheku says, "This is one of my absolute favorite melodies, and one that I've known for as long as I can remember. I spent a lot of my childhood in Wales with my family and particularly my Welsh Grandma, so this is for her."

Sheku also shares his own take on Aretha Franklin's "I Say a Little Prayer" (written by Burt Bacharach) for solo pizzicato cello. As a child he would play around with melodies like this when procrastinating about cello practice, and then went on to perform it as an encore. He also improvises with friend and jazz pianist Harry Baker on the melody "Cry Me a River," a song most famously recorded by Ella Fitzgerald. He also presents his own first arrangement of Bach for multiple cellos. For their original song "Same Boat," Sheku collaborates with a good friend, singer-songwriter Zak Abel. As Sheku explains, they wanted to combine "the raw intimate sound of Zak's voice with the organic sounds of the cello." And for Massenet's beautiful "Élégie," he joins forces with another vocalist, the striking South African soprano Pumeza Matshikiza.

Another world premiere on the album is a work (commissioned by The Royal Academy of Music, where Sheku studied) from British composer Edmund Finnis, who wrote the "Five Preludes" especially for Sheku, while, amongst several established works, the cellist also brings us a movement from the incredibly moving "Quartet for the End of Time" by Messiaen.

Laura Monks and Tom Lewis, Co-Presidents of Decca Label Group, say: "We are very proud as a label to have witnessed the growth of Sheku as an artist and human being. This album is incredibly beautiful and truly does represent artistic excellence."

Sheku Kanneh-Mason first caught the attention of the public when he won BBC Young Musician at the age of 17, and by his 19th birthday was performing at the wedding of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, watched by 3 billion people around the world. He was since named one of TIME Magazine's Next Generation Leaders, evidence of his ability to cross musical boundaries and draw new audiences into the world of classical music. With this astonishing album, he does just that.


  • Double LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Germany


Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello
Harry Baker piano (A:3, D:1)
Isata Kanneh-Mason piano (B:1-3, 5)
James Baillieu piano (B:4, C:2)
Pumeza Matshikiza soprano (B:4)
Zak Abel vocals (D:8)

Cello Ensemble:

Hannah Roberts (A:4, C:1, 3, D:2)
Ben Davies (A:4, C:1, 3)
Desmond Neysmith (A:4, C:1)
Max Ruisi (A:4, C:1, 3)


Side A:

  1. Star of the County Down [Trad.]
  2. Myfanwy [Parry]
  3. Lullaby for Kamila [Nigel Kennedy & Kroke]
  4. Preludio (Modinha) [Villa-Lobos]

Side B:

  1. Variations on "Ein Madchen Oder Weibchen" [Beethoven]
  2. Song Without Words: Opp. 62/1 & 109 [Mendelssohn]
  3. Song Without Words: Opp. 62/1 & 109 [Mendelssohn]
  4. Elegie [Massenet]
  5. Chanson Russe [Stravinsky]

Side C:

  1. Come, Sweet Death BWV 478 [J.S. Bach]
  2. Louange a L'eternite de Jesus [Messiaen]
  3. Saviour of the Nations, Come BWV 659 [J.S. Bach]

Side D:

  1. Cry Me a River [Hamilton]
  2. Falling in Love Again [Hollaender]
  3. Preludes I-V [Edmund Finnis]
  4. Preludes I-V [Edmund Finnis]
  5. Preludes I-V [Edmund Finnis]
  6. Preludes I-V [Edmund Finnis]
  7. Preludes I-V [Edmund Finnis]
  8. Same Boat [Zak Abel & Sheku Kanneh-Mason]
  9. I Say a Little Prayer [Bacharach]

Customers Also Like