Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Silver Cross
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer Not Dark Yet 180g LP

Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here to listen to Shelby & Allison sing Bob Dylan's "Not Dark Yet"!

Highly Anticipated First Album Together On 180g Vinyl LP!

The best relationships between singers are symbiotic yet mystical. They bear the demands of the song and revolve around what it needs without discussion. Whether it's a shared sixth sense or finely tuned intuition, no one has to ask who takes what part. It doesn't matter anyway — they are of equal importance when two voices nestle seamlessly into a melody, almost imperceptibly gliding across each other when it's time to switch. It's not a trick but a sacred dance.

Sisters Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer, now with twenty-four albums and Grammy, Oscar, and many other kinds of awards and nominations between them, share that kind of transcendent musical bond. It’s as deep, haunting, knowing, and beautiful as the Alabama woods they once called home. Both sang as soon as they could form words, but music is the only language they have ever needed to communicate with and understand each other. Not Dark Yet offers a glimpse into that understanding for the first time and finally, after years of trying to get it made, at the right time.

Produced by Teddy Thompson and recorded in Los Angeles during the summer of 2016, the album provides a potent look at their individual and collective artistry through eclectic song choices from writers ranging from the Louvin Brothers, Nick Cave, Kurt Cobain, and back to Jessie Colter. Shelby and Allison wrap their arms around the past, plant their feet in the present, and nod toward what's around the bend with a co-written "Is It Too Much," to close out the ten-song set.

Not Dark Yet is not a duet record. It is no ordinary collaboration. It is not a creation, but rather a celebration of something that has always been, two voices becoming one and finding home within each other.

"For the latest release from their hotly anticipated first-ever collaborative LP, Not Dark Yet, sisters Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer channel the close harmony of Country Music Hall of Fame legends the Louvin Brothers on 'Every Time You Leave.' But instead of the bluesy, near-rock & roll treatment given to the brothers' 1961 original, the sisters' piano-driven arrangement, with Lynne on lead vocal and Moorer contributing harmony throughout, plots the song's thoroughly dysfunctional relationship with soulful poignancy." - Stephen L. Betts, Rolling Stone

"The title track on their upcoming album Not Dark Yet is one of Dylan's most powerful ballads — the gentle elucidation of despair that was at the center of that 1998 resurgence. Dylan's original is a desert version of country blues, his singing dusty and a bit wry, its musical bed marked by a gentle Western drift. Lynne and Moorer take a more searching approach, anchored in Benmont Tench's gospel-inspired organ. Seamlessly exchanging verses — these two voices share such a deep genetic imprint that it can be hard to tell them apart — Lynne and Moorer communicate how resilience develops from the admission of vulnerability. 'Not Dark Yet' is a highlight on an album whose collaborative spirit is rooted in a shared desire to push, with the utmost grace, against confining musical categories." - Ann Powers, NPR

• 180g Vinyl LP
• First album together
• Limited time digital download code

Side A:

1. My List - The Killers
2. Every Time You Leave - The Louvin Brothers
3. Not Dark Yet - Bob Dylan
4. I'm Looking For Blue Eyes - Jessi Colter
5. Lungs - Townes Van Zandt
6. The Color Of A Cloudy Day - Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires
Side B:
1. Silver Wings - Merle Haggard
2. Into My Arms - Nick Cave
3. Lithium - Kurt Cobain
4. Is It Too Much - Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer

Customers Also Like