Genre: R&B
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Shuggie Otis Introducing Shuggie Otis 180g LP

Shuggie Otis

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out of Print! Only 1 copy available!

180g Audiophile Vinyl! Pressed at RTI!
Includes the Classic HIts "Strawberry Letter 23" & "Inspiration Information"! Seductive Style with Radiant, Soulful California Funk!

10 of His Most Iconic Songs!

Shuggie Otis is an American singer-songwriter, recording artist, and multi-instrumentalist. Otis' composition "Strawberry Letter 23" (as recorded by The Brothers Johnson) topped the Billboard R&B chart and reached #5 of the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1977. He also achieved commercial success with his 1974 single "Inspiration Information" (from the album of the same name), reaching #56 on the R&B chart.

Otis, primarily known as a guitarist, also sings and plays a multitude of other instruments. While growing up with and being heavily influenced by many blues, jazz and R&B musicians in his father Johnny's immediate circle, Otis began to gravitate towards the popular music of his generation such as Sly Stone, Jimi Hendrix, and Arthur Lee of the band Love.

Otis released his first solo album in 1969 entitled Here Comes Shuggie Otis on Epic Records. Countless musicians were his guests on that debut attempt, including Leon Haywood, Al McKibbon, and Wilton Felder. This further established his reputation and catapulted him to the attention of B. B. King, who was quoted in a 1970 issue of Guitar Player magazine saying Otis was "his favorite new guitarist". Some of the artists Otis performed and recorded with during that time include Frank Zappa (having played electric bass on "Peaches en Regalia" on the 1969 album Hot Rats), Etta James, Eddie Vinson, Richard Berry, Louis Jordan, and Bobby 'Blue' Bland, among many others.

The album Otis received the most notoriety for was his second Epic Records release in 1971, Freedom Flight, which featured his hit "Strawberry Letter 23". In 1974, Otis released Inspiration Information, his third and final album for Epic Records. The album had taken almost three years to finish. All the songs were written and arranged by Otis himself, who played almost exclusively every musical instrument on the album (except for horns and various stringed instruments).

"The precocious son of Greek-American bandleader Johnny Otis, Shuggie released two remarkable albums as a young man in the early 1970s. Freedom Flight and Inspiration Information slid between jazz, blues, folk and Prince-like psychedelia." - Dorian Lynskey, The Guardian

"[S]eductive style, limned with radiant, soulful California funk, salted with a deep blue streak and elevated by a progressive, modern rock & roll sensibility..." - LA Weekly

"He's the unsung hero of blues and funk. His music is so potent that it only blossomed 30 years after it was first released." - Questlove

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Pressed at RTI
• Includes Limited Time Free MP3 Download

Side One:
1. Hurricane
2. Baby, I Need You
3. Ice Cold Daydream (album version)
4. Strawberry Letter 23
5. Sweet Thang (album version)
6. Me And My Woman
Side Two:
1. Inspiration Information
2. Island Letter
3. Sparkle City
4. Aht Uh Mi Hed (album)

Customers Also Like