Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Silje Nergaard At First Light 180g LP

Silje Nergaard

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Never Before on VINYL!!!
180g Vinyl Pressed in Germany with Deluxe Packaging!

Recorded on 180g heavy-weight vinyl to ensure quality sound, packaged in gatefold cover, and covered by premium protective vinyl outer sleeve.

Norwegian jazz vocalist/songwriter Silje Nergaard was introduced to the world via the international bestseller Tell Me Where You're Going featuring Pat Metheny on guitar.

"At First Light is the second best-selling jazz album of all time in Silje Nergaard's native Norway. With this (her seventh album), she's already made it big in the rest of Northern Europe, and in the proud words of the Norwegian Embassy - now she wants to conquer Britain.

"Silje's voice is as childlike as Lisa Ekdahl's, and as if that wasn't enough she has a baby on backing vocals! Her songwriting, though, is mature. She can write an expansive melody that's well structured but isn't straitjacketed by chorus and verse.

""Be Still My Heart" comes from the Sting school of navel-gazing, with its falling cadences, rich bass, and Till Bronner's haunting, Chris Botti-esque trumpet. This, and the quietly beautiful "There's Always A First Time", both start with simple melody and instrumentation and grow in complexity. Silje's polished-silver vocals mix with sax and strings to form a precious but strong amalgam, while Magnus Lindgren's sax solo unravels the melody and plays with the loose ends.

"Although Silje writes her music at a distance from lyricist Mike McGurk, the produce of their relationship sounds organic as if words and music developed together. In fact, Silje sees the nature of Scandinavian jazz in the need to try to let the melody breathe and it's this sense of space that her voice demands if it's to be at its most individual and expressive..."

The “Play 33 1/3 LP Series” features masterpiece albums released in the '90s converted for the first time world-wide to analog Long Playing record. The album cover and package created after months of graphic work and processes by hand enhanced its excellence and to ensure the record’s superb sound quality, the German MMP, who undertook the record production of EMI Germany and Universal, utilized a heavy weight 180g vinyl LP to contain the sound. Khiov who was in charge of the planning and production of many LP miniature series took charge of the album cover production spending 6 months to create a masterpiece.

This project was highly scrutinized passing rigid testing at the factory in Germany. Even the performers themselves had not been able to put their hands on the LP version of their own albums as their home country had not produced them. The LPs produced by this project certainly have become must-have items by LP lovers all around the world.

In the age where faster and more convenient is thought to be better, the increase in demand for the retro vinyl LP worldwide is clearly attributed to the satisfaction from the sound offered by analog products impossible to be replicated by CD and digital products and the delight of touching, feeling, and possessing this masterpiece-like large artwork. Furthermore, LP records have both rarity and history that increase their value over time and serve as an attractive factor for collectors.

• Play 33 1/3 Series
• 180g heavyweight Vinyl
• 8-Page booklet
• Gatefold jacket
• Original artwork
• Lacquer cutting by SST (Schallplatten Schneid Technik) Bruggemann GmbH in Germany
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany

Silje Nergaard, vocals, electric piano
Tord Gustavsen, piano
Harald Johnsen, acoustic bass
Jarle Vespestad, drums

Side 1:

1. There's Always a First Time
2. Be Still My Heart
3. Let There Be Love
4. So Sorry For Your Love
5. Now and Then
6. Two Sleepy People
Side 2:
1. Keep On Backing Losers
2. Blame It On the Sun
3. At First Light
4. There's Trouble Brewing
5. Japanese Blue
6. Lullaby to Erle

Customers Also Like