Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Virgin
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Simple Minds 40: The Best of 1979-2019 2LP

Simple Minds

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

40th Anniversary Best of Compilation On Double LP Set!
Remastered at Abbey Road Studios!
Includes The Brand New Single "For One Night Only"!

40: THE BEST OF – 1979-2019 is a new compilation album that covers all 40 years of the band's now legendary recording career. It captures their early experimentation, cross over chart successes, right up to their new imperial phase represented by songs from 2015's Big Music and last year's Walk Between Worlds, which was their highest chart success in over 20 years, charting at number 4 in the UK.

Compiled in conjunction with the band, 40: THE BEST OF presents the very best of Simple Minds' extensive catalogue. It is a comprehensive overview of 40 years of one of Britain's most successful bands, taking in the innovative sheen of "Promised You A Miracle" and "Glittering Prize", the anthemic sweep of "Waterfront" and "Sanctify Yourself", the firebrand strand of "Belfast Child" and "Mandela Day", the colossus that is "Don't You (Forget About Me)" and "Alive & Kicking", and bringing things right up to date with the inclusion of a new track: a cover of King Creosote's 2014 song, "For One Night Only".


  • Double LP
  • Remastered at Abbey Road Studios
  • Gatefold jacket
  • New art designed by long-time collaborator Stuart Crouch, featuring iconic symbols by Malcolm Garrett which represent the 40 years
  • Includes brand new single "For One Night Only"
  • Made in the Czech Republic


Side 1:

  1. Chelsea Girl
  2. I Travel
  3. Love Song
  4. Promised You A Miracle
  5. Glittering Prize

Side 2:

  1. Someone Somewhere In Summertime
  2. Waterfront
  3. Don't You (Forget About Me)
  4. Alive And Kicking
  5. Sanctify Yourself

Side 3:

  1. Belfast Child
  2. Mandela Day
  3. See The Lights
  4. Hypnotised

Side 4:

  1. Stars Will Lead The Way
  2. Honest Town
  3. Sense Of Discovery
  4. For One Night Only

Customers Also Like