Genre: Classical
Label: Esoteric
Composer: Bela Bartok
Additional Artists: Sir Georg Solti


Sir Georg Solti Bela Bartok Concerto for Orchestra Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Chicago Symphony Orchestra

$59.99 $74.99
(You save $15.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Hybrid SACD!
Featuring ESOTERIC's Proprietary Re-Mastering Process to Achieve the Highest Level of Sound Quality!
Japanese Pressing, Deluxe Digipak Packaging, THE definitive Classical Performance on SACD!

Recorded in Orchestra Hall, Chicago in January 1981, Sir Georg Solti conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in one of Béla Bartók's best-known, most popular, and most accessible works.

As a student at the Liszt Academy, Georg Solti studied piano, composition and conducting with Béla Bartók, Ernst von Dohnányi, Zoltán Kodály and Leo Weiner. In 1937, Arturo Toscanini selected him as his assistant at the Salzburg Festival. Just before the outbreak of World War II, Solti fled to Switzerland as a refugee and turned to the piano for his livelihood, and in 1942 he won first prize in the Concours International in Geneva.

Following the war, Solti became music director of the Bavarian State Opera, and, in 1952, he was appointed to the same position with the Frankfurt City Opera. He led the first commercial studio recording of Wagner's Der Ring des Nibelungen with the Vienna Philharmonic between 1958 and 1965, and from 1961 until 1971, he was music director of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

Solti made his debut with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra at the Ravinia Festival in August 1954 and in Orchestra Hall in December 1965. In December 1968, the Orchestral Association announced that Solti would succeed Jean Martinon to become the Chicago Symphony Orchestra's eighth music director, beginning in September 1969.

Serving as music director for 22 years, Solti greatly enhanced the Orchestra's worldwide reputation. He led the first overseas tour to Europe in 1971, along with trips to Australia, Canada, Japan, Russia and numerous visits to Carnegie Hall.

Solti made his first recording for London/Decca in 1947, as a pianist with violinist Georg Kulenkampff. During his 49-year association with the label, he recorded over 40 operas and over 250 discs, including more than a hundred with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus. Solti received numerous accolades for his recordings, including 31 Grammy awards.

Classical masterpiece collection
The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid Super Audio CD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release. These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

Experience by yourself...
Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the "soul" hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

New Mastering Environment
The DSD mastering has been processed at the newly introduced the "ESOTERIC MASTERING CENTER", where deploys the latest X-series models from the flagship Grandioso as the core, including the Grandioso D1X, Grandioso C1X, and Grandioso G1X, in addition to the Grandioso S1, a pair of G-02X, MEXCEL cables, the MERGING PYRAMIX by ESOTERIC Original Tuned as DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)/Audio Interface coordinated by Mr. Tetsuya Kato, and re-mastered by Mr. Masaya Tohno under the supervision by Mr. Motoaki Ohmachi.

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Mastering Engineer: Masaya Tohno (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Technical Manager: Tetsuya Kato (ESOTERIC COMPANY)

A superb collection of orchestral masterpieces, brilliantly conducted by one of the great interpreters of this repertoire and recorded with the best possible sound for its day.
-Blair Sanderson, AllMusic, 4.5/5


  • Limited Edition - One-Time Pressing
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Recorded January 19-20, 1981 (Concerto for Orchestra, Dance Suite), May 14 & November 14, 1989 (Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta), Orchestra Hall, Chicago
  • DSD Mastering
  • Deluxe Digipack Packaging with OBI Strip
  • Made in Japan


Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Sir Georg Solti conductor


Béla Bartók (1881-1945)

Concerto for Orchestra, Sz 116
  1. Introduzione (Andante non troppo Allegro vivace)
  2. Giuoco delle coppie (Allegretto scherzando)
  3. Elegia (Andante, non troppo)
  4. Intermezzo interrotto (Allegretto)
  5. Finale (Pesante Presto)
Dance Suite, Sz 77
  1. Moderato
  2. Allegro molto
  3. Allegro vivace
  4. Molto tranquillo
  5. Comodo
  6. Finale (Allegro)
Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, Sz 106
  1. Andante tranquillo
  2. Allegro
  3. Adagio
  4. Allegro molto

Customers Also Like