Genre: Gospel
Label: ORG Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Sister Rosetta Tharpe Live in 1960 LP (Transparent Red Vinyl)

Sister Rosetta Tharpe

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1960 Live Recording on Transparent Red Vinyl!

Sister Rosetta Tharpe was the first great recording star of gospel music and among the first gospel musicians to appeal to rhythm-and-blues and rock-and-roll audiences, later being referred to as "the original soul sister" and "the godmother of rock and roll." This live recording from 1960 was pressed on vinyl for the first time in 2017, 57 years later.

The set has plenty of variety, lots of sincere feeling, and high levels of musicianship from the unique performer. Highlights include "He's Got the Whole World in His Hands," "Didn't It Rain," "The Gospel Train" and "Down by the Riverside."

Originally released by Southland on CD in 1992, Live in 1960 captures Tharpe during a European tour, one which she embarked on as a solo artist. So each one of the 12 tracks features nothing but her driving playing, eyes clenched vocals and the stomp of her foot on stage. It's blushingly intimate, putting her proselytizing efforts front and center. The feeling is deepened with this vinyl remaster. The wax is mixed on the quiet side, and a bit of surface noise hangs in the background, but with a little volume push, all that gets brushed aside with every stinging, pleading note.
-Paste Magazine


  • Transparent Red Vinyl
  • Remastered for Vinyl by David Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering
  • Master Tape Digital Transfers by David Stocker


Side A:

  1. Can't Sit Down
  2. He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
  3. Vacation in the Sky
  4. Didn't It Rain
  5. Can't No Grave Hold My Body Down
  6. Two Little Fishes, Five Loaves of Bread
  7. The Gospel Train

Side B:

  1. Precious Lord
  2. Down by the Riverside
  3. Mansion in the Sky
  4. Is Everybody Happy?
  5. Peace in the Valley

Recorded in Europe, 1960

Customers Also Like