Genre: Blues
Label: ORG Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Skip James The Complete 1931 Sessions LP

Skip James

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Skip James' Historic Paramount Recordings on Vinyl LP!
Remastered by Dave Gardner & Nick Townsend at Infrasonic Mastering!

Mississippi Delta blues artist Skip James, known for his career during the Great Depression and subsequent decades, played primarily in a minor key, featuring complex fingerpicking. He was "rediscovered" and became much more widely recognized during the 1960s when he was in very poor health nearing the end of his life.

After years of being out of print, The Complete 1931 Sessions, taken from James' Paramount recordings, is remastered and reissued by Org Music on black vinyl. Featuring new artwork and liner notes by author Larry Jaffee, the compilation is made up of some of the earliest years of the artist's career and showcases the astounding talent he possessed from the very beginning.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Recorded for Paramount in Grafton, Wisconsin, February 1931
  • Remastered at Infrasonic Mastering by Dave Gardner with Nick Townsend
  • New Artwork
  • Liner Notes by Larry Jaffee


Side A:

  1. Devil Got My Woman
  2. If You Haven't Any Hay Get On Down The Road
  3. Hard Luck Child
  4. Drunken Spree
  5. Little Cow And Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
  6. Be Ready When He Comes
  7. How Long "Buck"
  8. I'm So Glad
  9. Cherry Ball Blues

Side B:

  1. Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues
  2. 22-20 Blues
  3. 4 O'Clock Blues
  4. Jesus Is A Mighty Good Leader
  5. Yola My Blues Away
  6. What Am I To Do Blues
  7. Special Rider Blues
  8. Illinois Blues
  9. Cypress Grove Blues

Customers Also Like