Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Composer: Doug Sahm
Format: 33RPM,


Son Volt Day of the Doug: The Songs of Doug Sahm LP

Son Volt

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Tribute to Legendary Troubadour Doug Sahm on Vinyl LP!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 3/5 Sonics in the October 2023 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Son Volt's latest record, Day of the Doug, revisits the music of legendary Texas troubadour Doug Sahm. But it's much more than fond remembrance and colorful tribute. It is a summoning and a celebration of a songwriter and performer whose work forged country, Tex-Mex, rock, rhythm and blues, folk, and psychedelia into an utterly unique American sound.

Sahm's 50-year career was a restless and relentless quest for the Holy Grail of "the groove." He played pedal steel with Hank Williams, Sr. as a kid before making three Top 40 hits with the Sir Douglas Quintet and recording a dizzying array of solo works with a passel of shifting personas on a carousel of record labels. Son Volt's eleventh release since 1995's Trace steps confidently on the trails Sahm blazed. Like any journey to find a grail, Day of the Doug also seeks out all the things that make young artists fall in love with making music in the first place: adventure, youth, novelty, and a chance to snatch a bit of immortality.

Son Volt brings their trademark cowpunk crunch and an infectious energy. I associate [Jay] Farrar's voice with his own highly literate writing, but he even got me enjoying lyrically weaker songs like 'Dynamite Woman.' The conjunto bounce of 'Poison Love' sounds authentic, and Son Volt's new guitarist, John Horton (Bottle Rockets), delivers some fluid solos. 'Beautiful Texas Sunshine' indeed.
-Stephen Estep, The Absolute Sound, October 2023, Music 4/5, Sonics 3/5


  • Vinyl LP


Side One:

  1. Doug Intro
  2. Sometimes You've Got to Stop Chasing Rainbows
  3. What About Tomorrow
  4. Beautiful Texas Sunshine
  5. Float Away
  6. Yesterday Got in the Way
  7. Keep Your Soul

Side Two:

  1. Dynamite Woman
  2. Huggin' Thin Air
  3. Juan Mendoza
  4. Poison Love
  5. Seguin
  6. It's Gonna Be Easy
  7. Doug Outro

Customers Also Like