Genre: Alternative
Label: Wargod
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Sponge Wax Ecstatic LP (Galaxy Beer/Black Vinyl)


$24.99 $39.99
(You save $15.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Second Studio Album on Galaxy Beer/Black Vinyl LP!
First Time on Vinyl!

Wax Ecstatic is finally pressed on vinyl for the first time! First released in 1996, the sophomore album from Sponge remains a fan favorite, featuring the singles "Wax Ecstatic (To Sell Angelina)" and "Have You Seen Mary."

At times more raw and gritty than its predecessor Rotting Piñata, Wax Ecstatic isn't afraid to experiment, a common trait for Sponge throughout their career. The album peaked at number 60 on the Billboard 200 with significant radio airplay and videos in rotation on MTV.

Over 25 years since it was first released, Wargod has carefully restored and formatted the original artwork for the vinyl release. Package includes a gatefold jacket. Pressed on Galaxy Beer / Black vinyl.

With their second album, Sponge returned to the '70s hard rock roots they had only hinted at on their alterna-metal debut, Rotting Pinata... the group went back to their beginnings, touching on glam-rock, arena rock, blues-rock, and jangle-pop. Although it reveals Rotting Pinata to be somewhat calculating in its approach, Wax Ecstatic, ironically, is a far superior album. Simply put, Sponge sounds more comfortable on this terrain. They can spin out fuzzy hooks like those that populate the title track with ease, and they can craft hummable tunes like 'I Am Anastasia' with equal aplomb. Wax Ecstatic is a more focused, more determined and all around more successful record than its predecessor.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AllMusic, 4/5


  • Galaxy Beer/Black Vinyl
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Made in CZ


Side A:

  1. My Purity
  2. Got to Be a Bore
  3. Wax Ecstatic (To Sell Angelina)
  4. The Drag Queen of Memphis
  5. I Am Anastasia

Side B:

  1. Silence Is Their Drug
  2. Have You Seen Mary
  3. My Baby Said
  4. The Death of a Drag Queen
  5. Velveteen
  6. Imagine You

Customers Also Like