Stone Crush: Memphis Modern Soul 1977-1987 2LP & 45rpm 7" (Blue & Orange Vinyl)

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Blue & Orange Double LP With 45rpm 7" Vinyl Single!

Memphis has always been a studio town, where making hit records looked easy. An unknown Elvis could walk into Sun Studios and cut a side, while Willie Mitchell worked his magic around the corner at the Hi Records studio. This vast studio ecosystem meant that even when Stax Records folded in 1975, everybody still knew somebody who could get them into a real recording facility. The city's largest player in the business was gone, but the possibilities that it introduced were not.

Stone Crush is the definitive overview of Memphis' modern soul scene of the post-Stax years. It's a collection of funky tracks of hope--from dentist O.T. Sykes, who traded dental work for studio time, to the ad-man who moonlighted as the visionary mastermind behind Captain Fantastic & Starfleet, few of them ever had anything to do with a hit, but across the board, each believed. Like Cato Walker, whose father's gig as B.B. King's driver got him an in, and The Bar-Kays' former costume maker Libra, some had tangential connections to the city's deep-rooted music scene that gave them a head start on their hopeful path to fame. Over a decade in the making, Stone Crush is an expertly curated compilation of these home-grown slices of Memphis stylings, from roller skate boogie to private press soul to bedroom funk--rare sides whose original copies are considered holy grails by DJs and collectors all over. This collection does more than transport us to a time gone by. It helps us hear what couldn't be heard then.


  • "Color-In-Color" Blue & Orange Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • PLUS Mark Anthony & Lyte Speed 45rpm 7" Blue Vinyl Single with picture sleeve & poster
  • Gatefold jacket with obi strip
  • Liner notes by Robert Gordon & Andria Lisle
  • 24-page full color booklet with unseen archive photos and ephemera


Side A:

  1. Stone Crush On You - O.T. Sykes
  2. The Doctor - L.A.
  3. I'll Get To That - Tom Sanders
  4. No Seat Dancin' - Frankie Alexander
  5. Keep It To Yourself - Captain Fantastic & Starr Fleet

Side B:

  1. Under Cover Lover - Captain Fantastic & Starr Fleet
  2. (I'm) Choosing You - Magic Morris
  3. He Left You Standing There - Sir Henry Ivy
  4. You Mean Everything To Me - Sweet Pearl

Side C:

  1. Can We Melt The Ice - Morris
  2. Is It Love - J- Phakta
  3. Slice Of Heaven - Cato
  4. Take Time Out For Love - Frankie Alexander
  5. What Does It Take To Know (A Woman Like You) - Greg Mason

Side D:

  1. Always - Silk Satin & Lace
  2. Lollie Pop - Kick
  3. Right Thing - Kick
  4. Convict Me - Libra

45rpm 7" Vinyl Single:

  1. I'm Just A Boogie Roller - Mark Anthony & Lyte Speed

Customers Also Like