String Of Pearls It Don't Mean A Thing Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

String Of Pearls

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Three Superb Singers on SACD!

Sue Halloran, Jeanne O'Connor and Holli Ross were all working as professional solo singers in New York when they were brought together to perform at a nostalgia-oriented concert. Since then the group has created a repertoire that ranges from authentic re-creations of Boswell Sisters songs from the 1930s, to adventurous original jazz arrangements. The Pearls' charming show can move from Andrews Sisters to Sinatra, Basie, Carole King, Brazilian, and bebop.

"I am often asked what the future of vocalese will be. Right now, it is resting comfortably in the hands of three lovely girls - String of Pearls. String of Pearls has produced a version of vocalese that is, to me, breathtaking in its beauty, startling in its simplicity and overpowering in its swing, without which, as friend Edward Ellington so aptly says, 'It Don't Mean a Thing.'" - Jon Hendricks, NEA Jazz Master

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Susan Halloran, vocal
Jeanne O'Connor, vocal
Holli Ross, vocal
Ken Peplowski, tenor, alto and soprano saxophones, flute, clarinet
Bill Moring, bass
Darryl Pellegrini, drums
Tony Regusis, piano
Randy Sandke, trumpet

1. It's Sand, Man
2. Forty Second Street
3. Girl Tlak
4. Professor Bop
5. It Don't Mean A Thing
6. One Note Samba
7. Nice Work If You Can Get It
8. Straighten Up & Fly Right
9. I Hear Music
10. A String Of Pearls
11. Crazy People
12. Smack Dab In Middle
13. Teach Me Tonight
14. South American Way
15. Sermonette
16. Glow Worm
17. Sentimental Gentleman From Georgia

Customers Also Like