Genre: Electronic
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Sufjan Stevens Convocations 5LP Box Set (Color Vinyl)

Sufjan Stevens

$39.99 $65.99
(You save $26.00 )
Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Sufjan Stevens' New Instrumental Album Presented In A 5LP Box Set!
Pressed On Multi-Colored Vinyl!

Convocations, the new instrumental album from Sufjan Stevens, moves like a two-and-a-half-hour electronic/ambient mass for our present age of anxiety and dread; its 49 tracks work through the stages of grief and gladness with emotional mood music that is dreamy, dissonant, vertiginous, rhythmic, repetitive, urgent, and calm - that is, all the things we undergo when we inevitably live through isolation, uncertainty, and loss. Its five sonic cycles (Meditations, Lamentations, Revelations, Celebrations, and Incantations) replicate different stages of mourning, healing and catharsis, working both to soothe our unease while savoring a renewed sense of awe and wonder for being alive in these unprecedented times.

Stevens initiated Convocations in response to (and as an homage to) the life and death of his father, who died in September last year, two days following the release of The Ascension. It is, then, ultimately an album about death, and an album that reflects a year in which we have all lost so much. That said, this is not a personal record, but a universal one. Convocations is built on a shared experience that seeks to be honest about how complicated grief can be in these difficult times - the pain and separation, the anxiety, the unknown, the absolute joy of memory. This is also an album made in lockdown, when we were all cloistered in whatever space we had. Convocations arrives just as we begin to emerge from a year whose losses we will calculate for a lifetime. It is, then, right on time, as we begin to process our grief and try to carry on with it.


  • 5LP Box Set
  • Multi-Colored Vinyl
  • Five records of instrumental electronic music
  • All music performed, recorded, mixed & produced by Sufjan Stevens
  • Mastered by Adam Gonsalves at Telegraph Mastering
  • Slipcase
  • Layout & design by Sufjan Stevens


LP1 - Meditations

  1. Meditation I
  2. Mediation II
  3. Meditation III
  4. Mediation IV
  5. Meditation V
  6. Meditation VI
  7. Meditation VII
  8. Meditation VIII
  9. Meditation IX
  10. Meditation X

LP2 - Lamentations

  1. Lamentation I
  2. Lamentation II
  3. Lamentation III
  4. Lamentation IV
  5. Lamentation V
  6. Lamentation VI
  7. Lamentation VII
  8. Lamentation VIII
  9. Lamentation IX
  10. Lamentation X

LP3 - Revelations

  1. Revelation I
  2. Revelation II
  3. Revelation III
  4. Revelation IV
  5. Revelation V
  6. Revelation VI
  7. Revelation VII
  8. Revelation VIII
  9. Revelation IX
  10. Revelation X

LP4 - Celebrations

  1. Celebration I
  2. Celebration II
  3. Celebration III
  4. Celebration IV
  5. Celebration V
  6. Celebration VI
  7. Celebration VII
  8. Celebration VIII
  9. Celebration IX
  10. Celebration X

LP5 - Incantations

  1. Incantation I
  2. Incantion II
  3. Incantation III
  4. Incantation IV
  5. Incantation V
  6. Incantation VI
  7. Incantation VII
  8. Incantation VIII
  9. Incantation IX

Customers Also Like