Genre: Hip Hop Rap
Label: Friday Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Sugarhill Gang Rapper's Delight: The Best Of Sugarhill Gang 180g 2LP (Translucent Gold Vinyl)

Sugarhill Gang

$46.99 $48.99
(You save $2.00 )
Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Black History Month Exclusive!
180g Translucent Gold Vinyl Double LP!
Mastered by Joe Reagoso From The Original Sugarhill Records Tapes!

Celebrate Black History Month 2021 with this super limited edition release!

If there ever were originators of a brand of music which has lasted now for over 4 decades, the trio from Englewood, New Jersey known as Sugarhill Gang surely shook the world up with their first global smash hit "Rapper's Delight" in 1979.

Featuring their rhymes and rap styles against the music of Chic's classic hit "Good Times," this song along with many other smash hits would go on to influence generations of rap, hip hop and rock artists for years to come. Consisting of Michael "Wonder Mike" Wright, Henry "Big Bank Hank" Jackson and Guy "Master Gee" O'Brien, these three rappers turned the street sounds of the east coast into a worldwide party and kept it going for many more hit singles and albums throughout the eighties into the new millennium.

Discovered by Sugarhill label owners, superstar soul singer and producer Sylvia Robinson and her husband Joe Robinson, Sugarhill Gang would go on to develop more smash dance floor and rap hits with the likes of tunes like "Girls," the much emulated summer smash "Hot Hot Summer Day," and their explosive collaboration tour de force with The Furious Five on the classic "Showdown."

More hits followed the band thanks to massive airplay on their colossal worldwide smash "Apache" and of course their brilliant "Livin' In The Fast Lane."

Includes the long 12" version of "Rapper's Delight." Mastered impeccably on 2LP by Joe Reagoso (Sugarhill Gang, Chic, Aretha Franklin). Includes striking gatefold cover album art, original liner notes, and photographic discography of unique label art from the Sugarhill label.


  • Limited Edition
  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Translucent Gold Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Long 12" Version Of "Rapper's Delight"
  • Mastered by Joe Reagoso from the original Sugarhill Records tapes at Friday Music Studios & Capitol Mastering
  • Gatefold Cover
  • Original Liner Notes
  • Photographic Discography of Label Art from the Sugarhill Label


Side 1:

  1. Rapper's Delight

Side 2:

  1. Hot Hot Summer Day
  2. 8th Wonder
  3. Showdown - The Furious Five Meets The Sugarhill Gang

Side 3:

  1. Apache
  2. The Lover In You
  3. The Word Is Out
  4. Livin' In The Fast Lane

Side 4:

  1. Kick It Live From 9 To 5
  2. Girls
  3. Work, Work, The Body - Big Bank Hank, Kory-O, Wonder Mike

Customers Also Like