Sun Ra and His Arkestra Jazz in Silhouette (Expanded Edition) 2LP

Sun Ra & His Arkestra

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Expanded Edition on Double Vinyl LP!
Includes the Complete Sound Sun Pleasure Album! Two Albums in One!
Features Rare Stereo Mixes & Bonus Tracks!

Sun Ra's Jazz in Silhouette was enshrined in the Penguin Jazz Guide's 'Core Collection' as an album that "will someday be recognized as one of the most important post-war jazz records." Jazz in Silhouette is the quintessential record of Sun Ra's late-1950s Chicago period. Recorded and issued in 1959, it marks a coda for the bandleader's bebop/hardbop stage, as his interstellar traveler persona began to transform the band (and the music). It also charts the future, showcasing the brilliant tenor sax stylings of John Gilmore, and introduces the iconic playing of Arkestra mainstays Marshall Allen, Pat Patrick, and Ronnie Boykins. Many of the early works on these recordings would remain staples in Arkestra set lists for the rest of Sun Ra's life. This expanded edition includes the complete, contemporaneous Sound Sun Pleasure, rare stereo mixes, and bonus tracks.


  • Expanded Edition
  • Double LP
  • Complete Jazz in Silhouette Album (Released 1959)
  • Complete Sound Sun Pleasure Album (Recorded 1959; Released 1970)
  • Rare Stereo Mixes
  • Bonus Tracks
  • Previously Unreleased Tracks
  • Mastering by Joe Lizzi
  • Gatefold Jacket


Sun Ra piano, celeste, gong
Hobart Dotson trumpet
Marshall Allen alto sax, flute
James Spaulding alto sax, flute, percussion
John Gilmore tenor sax, percussion
Bo Bailey trombone
Pat Patrick baritone sax, flute, percussion
Charles Davis baritone sax, percussion
Ronnie Boykins bass
William Cochran drums
Hattie Randolph vocals


Side 1 - Jazz in Silhouette:

  1. Hours After (stereo)
  2. Horoscope
  3. Images
  4. Blues at Midnight

Side 2 - Jazz in Silhouette:

  1. Enlightenment (stereo)
  2. Saturn
  3. Velvet (stereo)
  4. Ancient Aiethopia (stereo)

Side 3 - Sound Sun Pleasure (Full Stereo):

  1. 'Round Midnight
  2. You Never Told Me That You Care
  3. Hour of Parting
  4. Back in Your Own Back Yard
  5. I Could Have Danced All Night

Side 4 - Bonus Tracks:

  1. State Street (alternate, previously unreleased)
  2. Blues from Saturn (previously unreleased)
  3. Hours After (single version)
  4. Great Balls of Fire (single)
  5. Horoscope (stereo, incomplete, previously unreleased)

Customers Also Like