Genre: Folk
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Suzanne Vega Close-Up Vol 4, Songs of Family 180g LP

Suzanne Vega

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Volume 4 of Vega's Close-Up Series on 180g Vinyl LP!

Widely regarded as one of the foremost songwriters of her generation, Suzanne Vega emerged as a leading figure of the folk-music revival of the early 1980s when, accompanying herself on acoustic guitar, she sang what has been called contemporary folk or neo-folk songs of her own creation in Greenwich Village clubs. Since the release of her self-titled, critically acclaimed 1985 debut album, she has given sold-out concerts in many of the world's best-known venues.

Bearing the stamp of a masterful storyteller who "observes the world with a clinically poetic eye" (The New York Times), Vega's songs have tended to focus on city life, ordinary people and real-world subjects. Notably succinct and understated, her work is immediately recognizable - as utterly distinct and thoughtful as it was when her voice was first heard on the radio over 30 years ago.

Back in 2010, Suzanne began re-recording and releasing songs from her extensive back catalogue as the "Close-Up" Series. She thought that her fans might like to hear the songs of her past stripped of their original productions, to hear them in an intimate setting, something more personal, that felt like she was singing to them alone. During the recording process, Suzanne also decided to rearrange the songs by theme, so people could rediscover them out of their original contexts.

Few artists are as capable of making music that allows intimacy to emote so expressively.
-American Songwriter


  • Close-Up Series
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Inner Sleeve with Full Lyrics & a Foreword by Suzanne Vega
  • Made in the EU


Side One:

  1. Rosemary
  2. Honeymoon Suite
  3. World Before Columbus
  4. As You Are Now
  5. Soap and Water
  6. Widow's Walk
  7. Blood Sings
  8. Bad Wisdom

Side Two:

  1. Ludlow Street
  2. Tired of Sleeping
  3. Pilgrimage
  4. Brother Mine
  5. The Silver Lady
  6. Daddy Is White

Customers Also Like