Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Demon Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


T. Rex 1973 Import LP

T. Rex

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

140g Black Vinyl LP!
Part of the Vinyl-Only Marc Bolan "Songwriter" Series!
16-Track Compilation Showcasing Bolan's Development of the T. Rex Sound!

Following the success of the 1LP Songwriter: 1970 and 2LP Songwriter: 1971 sets, Demon Records is proud to announce a new release in the Marc Bolan "Songwriter" series. This is a vinyl-only, intimate series that focuses on the private and creative Marc Bolan, with the emphasis on how these aspects affected his songwriting.

Songwriter: 1973 takes in a period of change during which Bolan was very active in recording studios in the US and Europe. As the sleeve note says: "In developing, accelerating and refining a 'T. Rex sound' with Tony Visconti at the controls, Bolan had achieved two things. He'd joined Elvis Presley and The Beatles as an unprecedented pop-phenomenon-turned-youth-culture-legend. And he'd become synonymous with a musical sound. Now, in 1973, with a pack of dressed-up disciples breathing down his neck and critics eager to knock his success, the budding anti-star wanted out."

With a selection of finished recordings and working versions, this 16-track compilation charts Bolan's attempts to move away from and develop the sound he had invented.

This release has been compiled and fully annotated in a 1,800-word note by Mark Paytress, author of the definitive biography Marc Bolan: The Rise and Fall of a 20th Century Superstar, and the recently published Glam! When Superstars Rocked the World, 1970-74.


  • 140g Vinyl
  • Marc Bolan "Songwriter" Series - Vinyl-Only Series
  • Finished Recordings & Working Versions
  • 1,800-Word Note by Bolan Biographer Mark Paytress
  • Import
  • Manufactured in the EU


Side A:

  1. Midnight [Master Version]
  2. Down Home Lady [Version 4]
  3. Sitting Here [Original B-Side]
  4. Saturation Syncopation (Alias All Alone) [Version 3]
  5. Satisfaction Pony [Original B-Side]
  6. The Avengers (Superbad) [Solo Electric]
  7. Change [Album Version]
  8. Liquid Gang [Working Version]

Side B:

  1. Sound Pit [Album Version]
  2. Spanish Midnight [Demo]
  3. Galaxy [Album Version]
  4. Look to Your Soul [Demo]
  5. Teenage Dream [Original A-Side]
  6. Jitterbug Love [By Pat Hall]
  7. Truck On (Tyke) [Original A-Side]
  8. Till Dawn [Take 3]

Customers Also Like