Genre: Folk
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Terry Callier The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier 180g 2LP

Terry Callier

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Expanded 2LP Edition Of Timeless Soul, Jazz & Folk-Infused Debut On 180g Vinyl!
The First Official Vinyl Reissue!
Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio! Pressed at RTI!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Terry Callier’s The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier is available as a official vinyl reissue cut from the original analog master tapes. This deluxe reissue features unreleased tracks, new liner notes, and bonus tracks. Almost a lost album, The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier encompasses Terry's blues voice and jazz, soul, gospel music fusion. The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier conveys the promise and power of Callier in his earliest days. Two 180g black vinyl LPs in 2 pocket gatefold tip-on.

"The career of Terry Callier was a long-simmering affair that took the better part of three decades to finally boil over into some kind of solid success. His first album, reissued this month by Craft Recordings, was recorded for Prestige Records in 1964, but didn't come out until four years later after the producer absconded with the tapes. By the time it was finally released, as writer Jason P. Woodbury says in his liner notes, 'the quiet, moody folk of the LP was out of step with the heady times…and it failed to register a commercial impact.' A few years later, Callier had left his acoustic roots behind for soul-jazz, issuing a trio of records in the early '70s, including the masterpiece What Color Is Love, which is being brought back into circulation thanks to Geffen. His steady, vibrato-laden voice didn't change from one record to the other, only his decision to move from spiritually-minded concerns to those of the body. Callier was brought from the brink of obscurity thanks to record collectors and artists like Beth Orton and Massive Attack who cited him as an inspiration and helped him find a modern audience. And they have helped keep his older material in the minds of music obsessives, playing no small part in the reissues of these two albums. You really can't go wrong with either one. Keep both in circulation on a lazy Sunday and they'll each set the mood: New Folk Sound for the morning and twilight hours, Love giving the afternoon and early evening a nice sense of purpose and groove." - Paste Magazine

• Expanded Deluxe Edition
• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• First official vinyl reissue
• Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Pressed at RTI
• 2-pocket gatefold tip-on jacket
• New liner notes
• Previously unreleased alternate versions

Terry Callier, guitar, vocals
Terbour Attenborough, bass
John Tweedle, bass

Side 1:

1. 900 Miles
2. Oh Dear, What Can The Matter Be
3. Johnny Be Gay if You Can Be
4. Cotton Eyed Joe
Side 2:
1. It's About Time
2. Promenade In Green
3. Spin Spin Spin
4. I'm A Drifter
Side 3:

1. Jack O'Diamonds
2. Golden Apples Of The Sun
3. Promenade in Green (take 1)*
Side 4:
1. Be My Woman (take 1)*
2. 900 Miles (take 1)*
3. It's About Time (take 2)*
4. Oh Dear, What Can The Matter Be (take 2)*

*Previously unreleased

Customers Also Like