Genre: R&B
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Bar-Kays Gotta Groove 180g LP

The Bar-Kays

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Reissue On 180g Vinyl LP!
All-Analog Mastering by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl!
Pressed at Memphis Record Pressing!

Gotta Groove includes the psychedelic grooves of two-part song "Don't Stop Dancing (To the Music)," the jazz-tinged soul of Marvin Gaye cover, "If This World Were Mine," and instrumental renditions of The Beatles' "Yesterday" and "Hey Jude." The album had a similar sound as Sly and The Family Stone with a little more funk in the mix.

The Bar-Kays were the soul group that rose like a phoenix. All but two of the group on Stax's Volt label who created the instrumental smash 'Soul Finger' were claimed by the plane crash that also killed Otis Redding. The two surviving members, James Alexander and Ben Cauley, wouldn't let the music die so to speak. They formed a new line-up and signed to Volt records.

"A celebration of life and music that ranks among the funkiest, hardest-driving LPs ever released under the Stax aegis."


  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • All analog mastering by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl
  • Pressed at Memphis Record Pressing
  • Made in USA


Side 1:

  1. Don't Stop Dancing (To The Music) Part I
  2. If This World Was Mine
  3. In The Hole
  4. Funky Thang
  5. Jiving Round
  6. Grab This Thing

Side 2:

  1. Don't Stop Dancing (To The Music) Part II
  2. Street Walker
  3. Yesterday
  4. Humpin'
  5. Hey Jude

Customers Also Like