Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Bill Crow Quartet Jazz Anecdotes Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Bill Crow Quartet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Bassist Sideman Turns Band Leader In Jazz Import SACD!

Bassist Bill Crow is better-known as being sideman in the band rather than a leader. His dreams definitely came true in this, his second CD for Venus.

Selections are composed of standards, classic jazz compositions, and a pair of originals.

"The buoyant take of Oscar Pettiford's 'Bohemia After Dark' has great solos by each member of the band, while Leggio and Cohn trade tasty licks during 'In a Mellotone.' Crow's arrangement of 'Round Midnight' is played at a brisker than usual tempo with a bossa nova rhythm, while Leggio's mellow tenor sax swings like mad in Lester Young's 'Tickletoe.' 'On the Alamo' is a once-popular tune that has long since fallen out of favor, though the quartet's delightful exploration of this old chestnut works beautifully. 'Mack the Knife' is in danger of overexposure, but this fresh interpretation does not settle for the predictable paths. Crow's composition, 'Jazz Anecdotes,' salutes the spirit of Count Basie's band, while his 'Tarrytown' is a lush ballad showcasing the leader first...the intimate sound of this very well-knit quartet throughout the sessions make this a warmly recommended title for fans of swing, bop, or cool jazz." - Ken Dryden,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Bill Crow, bass
Carmel Leggio, tenor saxophone
Joe Cohn, guitar
David Jones, drums

1. Jazz Anecdotes
2. Bohemia After Dark
3. In A Mellotone
4. Street Of Dreams
5. Tarrytown
6. Lover, Come Back To Me
7. On The Alamo
8. Mack The Knife
9. These Foolish Things
10. 'Round Midnight
11. Speak Low
12. Tickletoe

Customers Also Like