Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Bill Evans Trio Portrait In Jazz DMM 180g Import LP (Transparent Green Vinyl)

The Bill Evans Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Limited Edition 180g Transparent Green Vinyl LP!

Portrait in Jazz was Bill Evans’ third album as a leader, following New Jazz Conceptions (1956) and Everybody Digs Bill Evans (1958). It was also Evans' first LP with the talented bassist Scott LaFaro (although they had both participated on Tony Scott's LP Sung Heroes, recorded in October 1959, they played on separate tracks). Their superb chemistry is evident from the very first tune, and Evans was surely aware of that. As opposed to his previous albums, no solo piano selections were included here and the trio is heard throughout the whole LP. The Evans- LaFaro collaboration would reach a climax with their June 1961 club recordings at the Village Vanguard in New York.

"The first of two studio albums by the Bill Evans-Scott LaFaro-Paul Motian trio (both of which preceded their famous engagement at the Village Vanguard), this Portrait in Jazz reissue contains some wondrous interplay, particularly between pianist Evans and bassist LaFaro, on the two versions of 'Autumn Leaves.' Other than introducing Evans' 'Peri's Scope,' the music is comprised of standards, but the influential interpretations were far from routine or predictable at the time. LaFaro and Motian were nearly equal partners with the pianist in the ensembles and their versions of such tunes as 'Come Rain or Come Shine,' 'When I Fall in Love,' and 'Someday My Prince Will Come' (which preceded Miles Davis' famous recording by a couple years) are full of subtle and surprising creativity. A gem." - Scott Yanow, AllMusic

• 180g Vinyl
• Limited Edition Transparent Green Vinyl
• Direct Metal Master
• Import
• Made in the EU
• Bonus Track

Bill Evans, piano
Scott LaFaro, bass
Paul Motian, drums

Side A:

1. Come Rain Or Come Shine
2. Autumn Leaves
3. Witchcraft
4. When I Fall In Love
5. Peri's Scope
Side B:
1. What Is This Thing Called Love?
2. Spring Is Here
3. Someday My Prince WIll Come
4. Blue In Green
5. Blue In Green (alt tk)*

*Bonus Track: From the same session, but not included on the original album

New York, December 28, 1959

Customers Also Like