Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Bonniwell Music Machine The Bonniwell Music Machine LP (Olive Green Vinyl)

The Bonniwell Music Machine

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

First-Ever Reissue Of '60s Classic!
Newly Remastered For Vinyl!
Pressed On Olive Green Vinyl - Limited To 900 Copies!

The music business is replete with stories of outsized talents who, due to label mismanagement, misguided career advice, or just plain bad luck, never got their due. But the story of Sean Bonniwell is one of the saddest. He and his band The Music Machine broke through in 1966 with "Talk Talk" and the accompanying album (Turn On) The Music Machine. Because the record came out on the thinly-resourced Original Sound label, though, tour support, promotion, and, most importantly, royalties were in short supply, causing the band to disintegrate in short order. Undeterred, Bonniwell had the group's contract transferred to Warner Bros., and, after recording a few tracks for the next album with the original line-up, basically started from scratch with session musicians, naming the band and the album The Bonniwell Music Machine to acknowledge the fact that the record had become a solo project. After the first two singles ("Double Yellow Line" and "The Eagle Never Hunts the Fly") tanked, Warner Bros. lost interest and the album, which finally came out in February 1968, was deleted not long thereafter (after recording a solo release for Capitol, Bonniwell left the music business altogether).

Interest in the record bubbled under for years in esoteric collector circles, but for most of the music cognoscenti, the 2014 release of The Bonniwell Music Machine on CD by Ace Records' Big Beat imprint came as a revelation. Here was an album that retained the pop-punk fire of Talk Talk yet, with each track, branched off into completely unexpected directions including folk-rock and orchestrated chamber pop. And Bonniwell's lyrics explored dark psychological themes with Morrison-ian aplomb without the accompanying pretense.

Now, Real Gone Music is very, very proud to present the first-ever vinyl reissue of The Bonniwell Music Machine, in an olive green pressing limited to 900 copies. Absolutely positively a '60s classic!

...fine acid rockers ('Double Yellow Line,' 'Absolutely Positively') sitting next to feathery folk ('The Day Today') and horn-flecked soul ("I've Loved You'). Somehow, these varied approaches cohere on this full album - a secret success of the psych explosion of the late '60s. Why it's taken until this year to get a proper vinyl reissue of this disc is a true mystery...
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Limited Edition - 900 copies
  • Olive Green Vinyl LP
  • First-ever vinyl reissue
  • Remastered for vinyl


Side One:

  1. Astrologically Incompatible
  2. Double Yellow Line
  3. The Day Today
  4. Absolutely Positively
  5. Somethin Hurtin On Me
  6. The Trap
  7. Soul Love

Side Two:

  1. Bottom Of The Soul
  2. Talk Me Down
  3. The Eagle Never Hunts The Fly
  4. I've Loved You
  5. Affirmative No
  6. Discrepancy
  7. Me, Myself, And I

Customers Also Like