The Bruce Katz Band Mississippi Moan XRCD24

The Bruce Katz Band

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Sound Samples!

The Bruce Katz Band performs a dozen tunes with special guest Mighty Sam McClain joining in for vocals on the tracks "Jackalope Bar-B-Q" and "I'm Gonna Love You".

Bruce Katz can play 'soul-jazz' on the Hammond B3 as easily as he plays 1930's style stride piano or the meanest slow blues. He is able to create his own style of instrumental music from blues, jazz, rock, soul and Americana.

Bruce has the honor of being nominated in 2008, 2009, and 2010 for the Blues Music Award for "Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year", selected by the Blues Foundation.

The tracks on this pure analog recording were recorded live direct to two track using Studer A-80 2Track. It was mastered utilizing JVC K2-24bit AD Converter with Digital K2, Rubidium clock.

"Katz cooks up a brilliant marriage of blues, jazz, gospel and soul." - Bill Milkowski, Jazz Times

"He can play jazz, blues, Bach, anything. Man, he's a heavy!" - Gregg Allman

• Pure analog recording
• Tracks recorded live direct to two track
• Mastered using JVC K2-24bit AD Converter w/Digital K2,Rubidium clock
• Mastered by Tohru Kotetsu at JVC Mastering Center, Japan, January 19, 2010
• Master Music 24-bit Super Analog, Original Analog Recording

Bruce Katz, piano, Hammond B-3
Julien Kasper, guitar
Tom Hall, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone
Mark Poniatowski, bass
Ralph Rosen, drums
Mike Costello, harmonica
Special Guest:
Mighty Sam McClain, vocal (8,10)

1. Hep-ology
2. Night Of Joy
3. Hanging On the Cross
4. Norton's Boogie
5. Mississippi Moan
6. In the Garden (Traditional) for Lee
7. Elmore's Glue
8. Jackalope Bar-B-Q
9. The Prowler
10. I'm Gonna Love You
11. Compared to What
12. Praise House

Total playing time, 56:38

Produced by Joe Harley and recorded by Michael C. Ross at Bearsville Studio, Woodstock, NY, June 20 and 21, 1997.

Customers Also Like